Legislative information

Each year, we work with the Governor, Legislature and stakeholder groups to identify and accomplish legislative actions that are needed to drive toward our responsibilities of great service, public safety and consumer protection. During odd-numbered years, the regular legislative session is 105 days in length and during even-numbered years, the regular session runs 60 days.

2017 Agency Request Legislation

Non-domiciled CLP/CDL

REAL ID Act

Address of Records, Updates

Bills that may impact you

SB 5775 – Veteran Designation

Description: This bill allows a person to indicate his or her status as a veteran of the United States military on his or her driver's license or identicards.

When will this impact me?

  • August 30, 2017

What does this mean to me?

  • To establish your service in the armed forces, you must provide the Department of Defense discharge document, DD Form 214, which shows a discharge status of "honorable" or "general under honorable conditions".
  • No fee required

HB 1400 – Aviation Special License Plates

Description: This bill creates the Washington Aviation special license plate with the purpose of honoring and supporting the aviation community in the state. Proceeds from the sale of the special license plates will be provided to the Washington State Department of Transportation to support infrastructure improvements at public use airports in Washington.

When will this impact me?

  • Plates will be available for purchase on July 23, 2017

What does this mean to me?

  • New special license plate collection

SHB 1568 – Fred Hutch Special License Plates

Description: This bill creates the Fred Hutch special license plate with the purpose of supporting the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center. The proceeds from the sale of the special license plates will be provided to the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center to support cancer research.

When will this impact me?

  • Plates will be available for purchase on October 1, 2017

What does this mean to me?

  • New special license plate collection

E2SHB 1614 – Impaired Driving

Description: This bill provides a medical waiver for individuals who are unable to operate an ignition interlock device (IID) due to a disability. It also requires that individuals that have an IID requirement must now have no IID violations for the last 180 days of their requirement period. It also allows an individual's refusal to take an intoxication test be admissible in court under certain circumstances. The bill also increases the severity of the alternative sentence options for individuals with one prior impaired driving offense.

When will this impact me?

  • July 23, 2017

What does this mean to me?

  • You may obtain a medical waiver for an ignition interlock device requirement, you must provide a waiver from your physician that you are unable to operate the ignition interlock due to a physical disability.
  • After 10 years and with no other offenses, you may request to have your record of conviction for an impaired driving removed.
  • Increase the existing $200 fee for all persons convicted of DUI, physical control, vehicular homicide, or vehicular assault to $250. (fee collected by the courts)
  • Change the alternative sentencing option for persons with one prior offense in seven years that are found to have a BAC under 0.15 to 4 days in jail and either 180 days of home monitoring or 120 day 24/7 sobriety monitoring.
  • Change the alternative sentencing option for person with one prior offense in seven years that are found to have a BAC over 0.15 to 6 days in jail and either 6 months of home monitoring or a 120 day 24/7 sobriety monitoring.
  • Requires a person with one prior offense suspension of one year, with a reinstatement of privileges occurring if the person completes or is enrolled in a 6-month 24/7 sobriety monitoring program.

HB 1907 – Abandoned Cemeteries

Description: This bill requires landowners of abandoned cemeteries to allow burials under rules adopted by the Funeral and Cemetery Board. It also requires documents associated with an abandoned cemetery to be transferred to the State Archives and requires endowment care funds associated with an abandoned cemetery to be transferred to the Department of Archaeology and Historic Preservation.

When will this impact me?

  • July 23, 2017

What does this mean to me?

  • Individuals wishing to have a deceased person buried in a cemetery that has been deemed abandoned will be able perform the burial.

ESB 5008 – REAL ID Act

Description: This bill requires DOL to mark the standard driver's licenses and identicards as required by federal law beginning July 1, 2018. A driver's license or identicards that is marked pursuant to the REAL ID Act requirements may not be an acceptable stand-alone document that can be used to enter federal facilities or for other federal purposes. The marking on a driver's license or identicards may not be used as a basis for criminal investigation, arrest, or detention, if a person with a license that did not have a marking would not be investigated, arrested, or detained under similar circumstances. The new fee for an EDL and identicards is $4 per year.

When will this impact me?

  • July 23, 2017 – Reduced cost for EDL and identicards
  • July 1, 2018 – DOL will mark the standard driver's licenses and identicards

What does this mean to me?

  • Individuals seeking an original or a renewal enhanced driver license or identicard will pay $78 instead of $108.
  • Starting July 1, 2018, standard driver's licenses and identicards will be marked as required by federal law.

SSB 5289 – Distracted Driving

Description: This bill updates current laws that prohibit the use of a hand-held cellular phone and texting while driving. The updated laws prohibits a driver from holding or using a personal electronic device with his or her hands while driving. It also permits the minimal use of a finger to activate, deactivate, or initiate a function of a personal electronic device while driving. It establishes dangerously distracted driving as a secondary traffic infraction, limiting enforcement to when a driver of a motor vehicle has been detained for a suspected violation of a separate traffic infraction.

When will this impact me?

  • July 23, 2017

What does this mean to me?

  • A person who uses a person electronic device while driving a motor vehicle on a public highway is guilty of a traffic infraction.
    • First violation – base penalty of $48 and a total penalty of $136
    • Second and subsequent violation – base penalty of $96 and a total penalty of $235
  • A person cannot hold a personal electronic device in either hand; using your hand or finger to compose, send, read, view, access, browse, transit, save, or retrieve email, text messages, instant messages, photographs, or other electronic data; and watching video on a person electronic device.
  • Driving means operating a motor vehicle on a public highway, and includes when the vehicle is temporarily stopped because of traffic or a stop light or stop sign. It does not include when the vehicle has pulled over and stopped on the side of an active roadway and can remain stationary safely.

Related information

Questions? Need help?

Contact us

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website