News release

September 12, 2012

Some driver and vehicle fees increasing in October

OLYMPIA — Several fees related to driver and vehicle licensing charged by the Department of Licensing will increase on October 1.

These fee increases, passed by the 2012 State Legislature, are required to continue to fund the operation and maintenance of the roads, streets, bridges, ferries, transit systems, and other services that make up our vital transportation system.

Fees related to driver licensing Oct. 1:
  Fee prior to Oct. 1 Fee on/after Oct. 1
Driver license fee (original and renewal) $25 ($5/yr) $45 ($9/yr)
ID card fee (original and renewal) $20 ($4/yr) $45 ($9/yr)
CDL fee (original and renewal) $61 ($12.20/yr) $85 ($17/yr)
Driver instruction permit (original and renewal) $20 $25
Driver license application/examination $20 $35
Duplicate driver license or ID card $15 $20
Abstract of driver’s record $10 $13
DUI hearing (for administrative suspension) $200 $375
Fees related to vehicle licensing Oct. 1:
  Fee prior to Oct. 1 Fee on/after Oct. 1
Certificate of Ownership application (title) $5 $15
Original issue license plate (except motorcycle) $0 $10
Original issue motorcycle license plate $0 $4
Motorcycle replacement plate $2 $4
Late title transfer penalty $25 to $100 $50 to $125
Washington Healthcare Finder
Access Washington – official state government website