State-certified general real estate appraiser

The Washington State Legislature has not yet approved state operating and capital budgets for the 2017–19 biennium, which begins July 1. If the Legislature does not approve budgets by June 30, several state agencies will go through full or partial operations shutdowns. To find out what services will be effected, see Possible suspension of services starting July 1.

Counter services closed as of January 1, 2016. We can't receive overnight deliveries in Olympia.

  • You can use our online services where available or
  • You can mail applications and documents with money to the PO Box in Seattle. (Mail deliverers requiring signatures won't deliver to a PO Box.)
  • To receive updates and alerts, sign up for our listserv.

Education and experience requirements

To be eligible you must meet all of the following education and experience requirements.

There’s no specific order required to gain this education and experience. After you have completed these requirements, you’re eligible to apply to take the state-certified general appraiser exam.

Experience

Before you may take the exam, you must:

  1. Find a certified appraiser willing to supervise your work experience as a licensed registered appraiser trainee.
  2. Work under the supervisory appraiser to get at least 2½ years’ real estate appraiser experience (30 full months and 3,000 hours).
    • At least 1,500 hours of this experience must be in non-residential appraising.
    • Hours may be treated as cumulative to achieve the necessary hours of appraisal experience.

Education

  • To be eligible to take the exam, you must have a Bachelor’s degree or higher (in any field) from an accredited college or university,
  • and
  • A total of 300 classroom hours of approved real estate appraisal courses, including all of the following,
Subject Hours required
Basic appraisal principles 30 hours
Basic appraisal procedures 30 hours
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) 15 hours
General appraiser market analysis and highest and best use 30 hours
Statistics, modeling, and finance 15 hours
General appraiser sales comparison approach 30 hours
General appraiser site valuation and cost approach 30 hours
General appraiser income approach 60 hours
General appraiser report writing and case studies 30 hours
Appraisal subject matter electives 30 hours

How to apply to take the certification exam

  1. Complete a Real Estate Appraiser Certification Application. If you’re from outside Washington State, please complete the Consent of Service section of the application form included in the application.
  2. Attach copies of all education documentation.
  3. Enclose a completed experience log, in chronological order. You won’t be granted credit for restricted appraisal reports. Every page must be signed by you. All pages with experience obtained under a Supervisor must also be signed by your supervisor
  4. Enclose a check or money order for the $370 application fee (payable to the Department of Licensing). Fees are non-refundable.
  5. Mail the application, documentation, and fee to us at the address shown on the application.
  6. Allow at least 2 weeks for processing. We’ll review the application and determine if you’re eligible for exam. Then we’ll send you a letter stating you’re approved to take the exam, or explaining why your application was denied.
  7. Schedule your exam online, by phone, or by mail with Applied Measurement Professionals, Inc (goamp.com). For more information, see the Candidate Handbook.

For veterans

U.S. Veterans may be eligible for partial reimbursements of costs. For more information: Education and Training | Licensing and Certification

Questions? Need help?

Contact us

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website