State-registered real estate appraiser trainee

The Washington State Legislature has not yet approved state operating and capital budgets for the 2017–19 biennium, which begins July 1. If the Legislature does not approve budgets by June 30, several state agencies will go through full or partial operations shutdowns. To find out what services will be effected, see Possible suspension of services starting July 1.

Counter services closed as of January 1, 2016. We can't receive overnight deliveries in Olympia.

  • You can use our online services where available or
  • You can mail applications and documents with money to the PO Box in Seattle. (Mail deliverers requiring signatures won't deliver to a PO Box.)
  • To receive updates and alerts, sign up for our listserv.

Education requirements

Complete 79 classroom hours of approved real estate appraisal courses, including:

Subject Hours required
Basic appraisal principles 30 hours
Basic appraisal procedures 30 hours
National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) course or equivalent 15 hours
Supervisory appraiser/Trainee appraiser course 4 hours

Register as a real estate appraiser trainee

When you’re finished with your education, send us the following:

  1. Real Estate Appraiser Trainee Registration Application. If you’re not from Washington, complete the Consent of Service form included in the application.
  2. Copies of all education documents.
  3. Application fee – check or money order payable to Department of Licensing. Fees are non-refundable.

Allow at least 2 weeks so we can review and determine your eligibility.

Experience

After you’re registered as a trainee, you may begin experience training. You must keep an experience log for your assignments in date order.

Related information

Questions? Need help?

Contact us

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website