Real estate appraiser temporary permit

The Washington State Legislature has not yet approved state operating and capital budgets for the 2017–19 biennium, which begins July 1. If the Legislature does not approve budgets by June 30, several state agencies will go through full or partial operations shutdowns. To find out what services will be effected, see Possible suspension of services starting July 1.

Counter services closed as of January 1, 2016. We can't receive overnight deliveries in Olympia.

  • Mail applications and documents with money to the PO Box in Seattle. (Mail deliverers requiring signatures won't deliver to a PO Box.) The U.S. Post Office offers an overnight service that doesn’t require signatures if you need to expedite your application.
  • To receive updates and alerts, sign up for our listserv.

If you’re licensed or certified as a real estate appraiser in another state, you may apply for a temporary permit to practice in Washington.

How to apply for a temporary permit

  1. Complete a Real Estate Appraiser Temporary Practice Application.
  2. Enclose a copy of your assignment contract. The contract must:
    • Be on letterhead.
    • Be dated and signed.
    • Include the subject address.
    • Describe the scope of the assignment.
    • Show the due date.
  3. Enclose the $150 fee (check or money order payable to the Department of Licensing).
  4. Submit the application, assignment contract, and fee to us at the address on the application.

Expiration date

A temporary permit is valid for no more than 6 months from date it’s issued, and may be extended.

Questions? Need help?

Contact us

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website