If you received an accredited bachelor’s or master’s degree in architecture from a university recognized by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), you’ll be given 5 years of academic experience credit.
If you received an undergraduate or graduate degree in architecture from a university that isn’t recognized by NAAB, you’ll be given 4 years of academic credit.
Yes, completion of IDP became mandatory on July 29, 2001. If you were accepted for exam registration before July 29, 2001, you may not be required to submit an IDP record if you have kept your application file active. If your application file shows no activity for 5 consecutive years, you’ll have to reapply and will be held to the licensing requirements in effect at the time of reapplication (WAC 308-12-065).
Yes, you can complete the training requirements and apply for a Washington State license. However, you won’t receive full IDP NCARB certification because of the lack of a degree. You also will need to sit for an oral exam before you can get a license.
If you aren’t a direct registration candidate through NCARB, the score reports are sent to board staff from the testing agency, Prometric. Once they’re received, your file is updated and the reports are mailed to you. Expect them approximately 4–7 weeks after you’ve taken your exam.
You may continue to take the exams until you pass. However, all exams must be passed within 5 years. This 5-year time limit begins the month you pass the first division of the exam. On a rolling-clock basis, you’ll be required to retake any sections of the exam you passed more than 5 years ago, along with any sections not yet passed.
The board may request an oral interview from candidates. Usually the board will waive this requirement for applicants who have an NCARB “Blue Cover” certificate. You can get an NCARB “Blue Cover” certificate by completing the IDP and receiving a Bachelor’s or Master’s degree in architecture from a university recognized by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB).
The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) implemented a 5-year clock on January 1, 2006. Any exams you took before that date will be marked “exempt.” However, Washington’s 5-year clock overrides NCARB’s, and you’re still required to pass all of the exams within 5 years.
Yes, Washington’s 5-year clock rule applies to all candidates taking exams through Washington State. The score reports issued by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) give you detailed feedback on your performance for that division of the exam, but the “exempt” status isn’t relevant to Washington’s 5-year clock.
The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) launched a new version of the Architect Registration Exam (ARE) in July 2008. If you passed at least 1 division of the current exam before May 2008, you’ll have until June 2009 to pass the remaining divisions. If you have passed exams in version 3.1, you can determine the version 4.0 exams you still need with NCARB’s transition chart.
Yes, you may receive a certificate of registration if you’re a registered architect in another state or territory of the United States, the District of Columbia, or another country. However, you must strictly meet Washington’s licensing requirements.
Washington law and rule uses “architect of record“ in conjunction with stamping and sealing for a specific project submitted to authorities having jurisdiction. “Designated architect” identifies licensed architects who have been authorized by their business entity to sign and seal its technical submissions. Building officials most commonly use “architect of record” on building permits to identify the firm and/or individual who stamped and sealed.
Our law doesn’t, nor does it intend to, instruct building officials, architects, or the media regarding identification of architects and use of titles. The following titles, and other variations, are often used synonymously within the architect profession to identify participation on architectural teams, in joint ventures, or in supporting roles for a specific project:
No, a Certification of Authorization isn’t required if your employer doesn’t offer to practice architecture. This exception is applicable when:
You’re employed as an in-house architect by a government entity, educational organization, institutional business, industrial company, or similar non-architectural business.
You’re an architect employed by a business or organization that doesn’t offer architectural services in this state.
your work includes facility planning and preparing technical submissions for any construction or alteration of buildings owned by your employer.
However, the following 3 things are important to remember:
If your employer is a business, it must have a business license issued by the Department of Revenue (DOR) which classifies its business activities and the principal products and services it provides. Your activity as an in-house architect doesn’t require your employer to submit a Registered Professional Design Firm Addendum to DOR if it isn’t a principal service provided by the business.
Technical submissions prepared by you or under your supervision, if submitted to building authorities having jurisdiction, must be signed and sealed. This makes you the “architect of record” for each set of documents prepared for your employer’s use.
If your employer offers architectural services, it must submit a Registered Professional Design Firm Addendum to get a Certification of Authorization from the Board for Architects, in addition to having a business license issued by DOR. The addendum must list you as a “designated architect,” which requires you to have ownership and financial responsibility for the organization. For more information, see How to get your certificate: Firms.