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Washington Administrative Code
Notice of Permanent Rules for Combative Sports

This explanatory statement concerns the Washington State Department of Licensing’s
adoption of WAC 36-12 Professional Boxing and WAC 36-14 Professional and Amateur
Martial Arts.

The Administrative Procedure Act (RCW 34.05.325(6)) requires agencies to complete a concise
explanatory statement before filing adopted rules with the Office of the Code Reviser. This
statement must be provided to anyone who gave comment about the proposed rule making.

Once persons who gave comment during this rule making have had a chance to receive this
document, the Department of Licensing will file the amended rules with the Office of the Code
Reviser. These rule changes will become effective December 1, 2013.

The Department of Licensing appreciates your involvement in this rule making process. If you
have any questions, please contact Damon Monroe, Agency Rules Coordinator, at (360) 902-
3843 or e-mail at dmonroe@dol.wa.gov.

What are the agency’s reasons for adopting this rule?

The department is amending Chapter 36-12 WAC and Chapter 36-14 WAC for
effectiveness, clarity, and intent. Stakeholders have requested an amendment to
combative sports rules regarding officials’ compensation paid by the event promoter. In
addition, amendments are needed as the rules were written over 10 years ago and are
incomplete, inconsistent, and are at times contradictory. The proposed rule
amendments are supported by industry and meet exemption criteria outlined in
Executive Order 10-06. The proposed amendments are also supported by statutory
authority.

Summary of all public comments received on this rule proposal and the agency’s
response to those comments:

One written comment was received:

One written comment expressed opposition to tying officials’ compensation to any type
of ticket sales gate or creating a pay scale for officials and was in favor of raising
officials’ compensation by 15% of what officials are being paid now.

Eight oral testimony comments were heard at the hearing:
1. No one testified against the proposed rules.
2. One attendee testified in support of the proposed rules.

3. Seven attendees testified they conditionally supported the proposed rules:

Concise Explanatory Statement
(Combative Sports) (October 8, 2013)


mailto:dmonroe@dol.wa.gov

Five commented they did not agree with the chest protector requirement for
female participants.

Two commented they did not agree with limiting the state to a 10-point “must”
scoring system. One commented the half-point system is also effective. And
another commented they did not agree with any point scoring system.

Two commented that state training should only be for licensed officials.

Two commented the state can exercise the right to select and assign officials to
events based on merit and not rotation. One commented the state should rotate
officials and critique them on how to improve.

Two commented they did not agree to the official pay of $115 for timekeepers and
judges for events with a net gate of 0-$30,000.

One commented that the amateur rules between Oregon and Washington should
be unified, that knees to the head should be allowed for amateurs without
requiring shin pads and that we should not restrict the surface of a mat to only
canvas in martial arts.

One commented the pay for officials should not be tiered or tied to the net gate
proceeds and commented that Chapter 36.14.1060 WAC should be clarified to
include a specific penalty for participants who are late to a weigh in.

Two commented that the shin pads for amateurs should not be required. One
commented that shin pads for amateurs should be removed after a minimum of
four fights.

Department Response:

The department does not currently restrict the surface of a mat. The department will
amend the chest protector for females to be optional in martial arts. The department will
offer training for licensed officials and applicants for licensure. The assignment of
officials is not a part of this rule filing and is under the authority of the Department of
Licensing.

The department has reviewed the above comments and will continue stakeholder work to

address scoring system, knees to the head for amateurs, participants late to weigh in,
and shin pads for amateurs.

WAC Changes:
36-12-040 (1) (b) — further defined padding in the ring

36-14-1060 (2) — clarified gear for females
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