How to get your license: Bail bond agency/branch office

The Washington State Legislature has not yet approved state operating and capital budgets for the 2017–19 biennium, which begins July 1. If the Legislature does not approve budgets by June 30, several state agencies will go through full or partial operations shutdowns. To find out what services will be effected, see Possible suspension of services starting July 1.

Who needs a license?

Anyone you offers bail bond services.


To get this license, all company owners, partners, or agents must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or resident alien and have:

  • No criminal convictions in the past 10 years that directly relate to your ability to perform your duties or hinder public safety.
  • A physical business location in Washington State.
  • A valid business license with Business Licensing Service.

What you’ll need

  • Bail Bond Agency/Branch Office License Application.
  • Fee – check or money order payable to Department of Licensing.
  • 3 years' proof that you’ve been a manager, supervisor, or administrator in bail bond business or related field.
    • If you don’t provide proof, you’ll be scheduled for an exam within 3 weeks after we’ve received your paid application.
  • A $10,000 surety bond.
  • If you write property bonds – Court names that have given approval for the placing of property bonds.
  • If you write surety bail bonds:
    • The name and address of the surety.
    • The attorney in fact.
    • The name that the build-up fund is in.
  • If your agency is a corporation:
    • A copy of articles of incorporation
    • A list of officers, Departments and their addresses.

How to apply

Mail application, any required attachments and payment to:

Bail Bond Program
Department of Licensing
PO Box 35001
Seattle, WA 98124-3401

For veterans

U.S. Veterans may be eligible for partial reimbursements of costs. For more information: Education and Training | Licensing and Certification

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website