How to get your license: Bail bond agent

The Washington State Legislature has not yet approved state operating and capital budgets for the 2017–19 biennium, which begins July 1. If the Legislature does not approve budgets by June 30, several state agencies will go through full or partial operations shutdowns. To find out what services will be effected, see Possible suspension of services starting July 1.

Requirements

All bail bond agents must:

  • Be 18 years or older.
  • Be a United States citizen or resident alien.
  • Be employed by, or have an employment offer from, a licensed bail bond agency.
  • Have no criminal convictions in the past 10 years that directly relate to the ability to perform the duties of a bail bond agent or that hinder public safety.
  • Complete the training requirements.
  • Pass a written exam or have 12 hours of prelicense training as described in WAC 308-19-300.

How to apply

To apply mail us the following:

For veterans

U.S. Veterans may be eligible for partial reimbursements of costs. For more information: Education and Training | Licensing and Certification

Related information

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website