Fees: Cosmetologists

The Washington State Legislature has not yet approved state operating and capital budgets for the 2017–19 biennium, which begins July 1. If the Legislature does not approve budgets by June 30, several state agencies will go through full or partial operations shutdowns. To find out what services will be effected, see Possible suspension of services starting July 1.

Type of license Get a license Renew Late renewal
Cosmetologist $25 $55 $110
Barber $25 $55 $110
Manicurist $25 $55 $110
Hair design $25 $55 $110
Esthetician $25 $55 $110
Master esthetics $25 $55 $110
Instructor $25 $55 $110
Salon/Shop $110 $110 $160
Mobile Unit $110 $110 $160
Personal Service $110 $110 $160
School $300 $300 $475
Reciprocity $50 N/A N/A
Miscellaneous fees Fee
Duplicate (replacement) license $15
Salon/Shop, Personal Services, or Mobile Unit License Application (Permanent Cosmetics)* $15
Salon/Shop, Personal Services, or Mobile Unit License renewal (Permanent Cosmetics)* $15

*If you have an individual artist license and an artist shop location license to practice permanent cosmetics and an operator license, you may qualify for a reduced license fee for your salon shop license if it's at the same location as your artist shop location license. Contact us at 360.664.6626 or plssunit@dol.wa.gov to see if you qualify.

Forms of payment

  • Pay exam fees directly to the examination provider, D.L. Roope Administrations Inc. (dlroope.com).
  • If you’re renewing online, pay with a Visa, MasterCard, or American Express (no gift cards).
  • All other payments must be made by check or money order payable to Department of Licensing.

Questions? Need help?

Contact us

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website