Take a survey: Tell us how we're doing!

How to renew your license: Driver training school staff certificate

When to renew

Your staff certificate is valid for 1 year. We’ll mail a renewal notice to your residence 80 days before your certificate expires. If you don’t get one, email us at tse@dol.wa.gov or call 360.664.6692.

How to renew

If you’ve had a certificate for 4 years or less:
  1. Complete a Driver Training School Staff Certificate Application.
    • Check the “Renewal” box at the top of the form.
    • Include a check payable to Department of Licensing for the non-refundable $10 Washington Access to Criminal History (WATCH) fee.
  2. Mail your completed application and fee to:
    Driver Training Schools
    Business and Professions Division
    Department of Licensing
    PO Box 3907
    Seattle, WA 98124-3907
  3. Please allow at least 3 weeks for us to review your application and mail your new certificate.
If you’ve had a certificate for 5 years:
  1. Complete a Driver Training School Staff Certificate Application, and check the “5th year renewal with fingerprint card” box at the top of the form.
  2. Get fingerprinted at a police department or any Washington State Patrol approved fingerprinting service.
    • You’ll be required to show your driver license or at least 1 other form of photo identification.
    • Each fingerprinting service sets its own fee. You must pay them at the time of fingerprinting, in addition to the processing fee you send us with your application.
    • When completing the fingerprint card, be sure to provide your:
      • Identifying information: Your name, any aliases, date of birth, citizenship, residence address, and other identifying information.
      • Employer and Address: The name and address of the driving school where you’ll work.
      • Reason Fingerprinted: For staff/owners, enter the exact words “Driver Training School Staff/Owner RCW 46.82.325”.
      • Social Security Number: Your Social Security number is mandatory for identification purposes only.
      • ORI: Enter the code “WA920390Z”.
  3. Include your completed fingerprint card with your renewal application.
    • Don’t fold the fingerprint card. We must reject bent or folded cards, and you’ll have to have your fingerprints retaken.
    • Be sure your fingerprint card is filled out correctly. We can’t accept the card if any information is missing, incomplete, or incorrectly worded.
  4. Mail your completed renewal application, fingerprint card, and $32.50 processing fee (check or money order payable to Department of Licensing) to:
    Driver Training Schools
    Business and Professions Division
    Department of Licensing
    PO Box 3907
    Seattle, WA 98124-3907
  5. Please allow 3–6 weeks for us to receive your background check, review your application, and mail your new certificate.

We can’t accept renewal applications postmarked after the certificate expiration date. If the expiration date on your certificate has passed, you must reapply by following the instructions under How to get your license.

Related laws

Washington Healthcare Finder
Access Washington – official state government website