How to get your professional engineer license by comity

Important requirements if you’re currently licensed outside of Washington

Applicants for professional engineering licensure by comity must meet these requirements:

  • Hold an active engineering license with one of the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) boards.
  • Pass the required NCEES exams.
  • Have exam results verified by the NCEES or the appropriate board.
  • Have your professional license status verified by the board that issued the license.
    • All verifications must be originals and sent to the Washington Board by the NCEES or appropriate board.

If you don’t meet these requirements, you can’t apply for a license in Washington by comity.

Licensing requirements

If you’re licensed in another state and want a Professional Engineer license in Washington, you must:

  • Be currently licensed in a U.S. state or other Washington board-approved jurisdiction.
  • Have at least 8 years of Washington board-approved engineering experience.
  • Have passed the Professional Engineer (PE) exam.
  • Have passed the Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) exam. The Washington Board no longer offers a waiver of the FE exam.
  • Pass the Washington Law Review.

How to apply

  1. Complete a Professional Engineer Registration Application:
    • Send pages 1–3 with a check or money order for the $110 fee (payable to the Department of Licensing) to:
      Department of Licensing
      Business and Professions Division
      PO Box 35001
      Seattle, WA 98124-3401
    • (If you’re having an NCEES engineering record sent to us, only complete and send us pages 1–3.)
    • Send pages 4–7 (Experience Description and Verification) to the people who are verifying your work experience.
      • The verifier must complete their portion and return it to you in a sealed envelope signed across the flap
      • The verification must be submitted with your application.
  2. Go to and follow the instructions for requesting a license/exam verification.
  3. Official transcripts from colleges/universities are required for applicants who want education considered toward the 8-year experience requirement. Official transcripts must accompany the completed application and be in an envelope sealed by the college/university.

Once we receive your application and fee, we’ll send you an email with instructions on how to access the online Law Review. You must complete the Law Review before your application will be considered for licensure. For help in understanding the application process, please see the comity application flowchart.

Related information

Questions? Need help?

Contact us

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website