How to get your professional engineer license by exam

did you know icon

The application submittal process is changing effective August 1, 2015.

Find out what you need to know in the Application Submittal Process Changes Effective August 1, 2015 news update.


Licensing requirements

To get your license, you must meet all of the following requirements:

  • Pass the EIT (Engineer-in-Training exam).
  • Pass the PE (Principles and Practices of Engineering exam).
  • Have 8 years of professional-level experience under the direct supervision of a licensed engineer. (Education in an ABET-accredited program may count for up to 4 years of this experience.)
  • If you have a non-ABET accredited engineering degree from a foreign country, you must also have your degree evaluated by NCEES Credentials Evaluations. This evaluation will be performed at your expense, and you’re responsible for submitting all the necessary information to the evaluation service.

How to apply

  1. Complete a Professional Engineer Registration Application:
    • Send pages 1–3 with a check or money order for the $65 fee (payable to the Department of Licensing) to:
      Department of Licensing
      Business and Professions Division
      PO Box 35001
      Seattle, WA 98124-3401
    • (If you’re having an NCEES engineering record sent to us, only complete and send us pages 1–3.)
    • Send pages 4–7 (Experience Description and Verification) to the people who are verifying your work experience.
      • The verifier must complete their portion and return it to you in a sealed envelope signed across the flap
      • The verification must be submitted with your application.
  2. If you took the Fundamentals of Engineering exam (EIT) in another state, go to https://verify.ncees.org and follow the instructions for requesting a license/exam verification.
  3. Official transcripts from colleges/universities are required for applicants who want education considered toward the 8-year experience requirement. Official transcripts must accompany the completed application and be in an envelope sealed by the college/university.

Once we receive your application and fee, we’ll send you an email with instructions on how to access the online Law Review. You must complete the Law Review before your application will be considered for licensure.

Related information

Questions? Need help?

Contact us

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website