Take a survey: Tell us how we're doing!

How to renew your license: Engineers

Renewing your license

Your license renewal is due every other year on your birthday. We’ll mail you a renewal notice about 60 days before your license renewal date. You’re responsible for renewing your license on time whether or not you receive a renewal notice from the Department

Your license is considered expired if not renewed on or before the expiration date; there is no grace period. Any work with an expired license is unlicensed practice and can subject you to penalties ordered by the Board.

Late renewals

Renewals that are expired over 90 days past the date of expiration require payment of a penalty fee equivalent to the fee for a one-year renewal in addition to the base renewal fee.

How to renew

  • Renew online with the password on your renewal notice, and pay with a Visa, MasterCard, or American Express debit or credit card.
  • Renew by mail by sending your renewal notice with a check or money order for the fee (payable to the Department of Licensing) to:
    Department of Licensing
    Business and Professions Division
    PO Box 35001
    Seattle, WA 98124-3401


Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website