Exams: On-site designers and inspectors
- You must pass the Law and Ethics Exam as part of the application process. This take-home exam covers the following Washington State laws and rules:
Note: You must pass the Law and Ethics Exam before you can be approved to take the 4-hour licensing exam. If you fail the Law and Ethics exam, you may retake it after you receive notice you didn’t pass.
- RCW 18.210: On-site wastewater treatment systems – designer licensing
- RCW 18.235: Uniform regulation of business and professions act
- WAC 196-30: Fees for on-site wastewater treatment designers and inspectors
- WAC 196-32: On-site wastewater treatment system designer licenses/inspector certificates of competency
- WAC 196-33: Rules of professional practices for licensees designing on-site wastewater treatment systems
- WAC 196-34: Continuing education of licensed professional on-site wastewater treatment system designers and certified inspectors
- You must pass the 4-hour On-site Designer Licensing Exam to get your license.
On-site Designer Licensing Exams are administered each April and October.
|April 15, 2015
||January 15, 2015|
|October 2015 (date to be determined)
||July 31, 2015|
Use the Washington On-Site Treatment System Designer Exam Blueprint to prepare for your exams.
Frequently asked questions
Can I reschedule or withdraw from an exam without paying additional fees?
- You may withdraw from a scheduled exam without forfeiting the fee by sending us a written notice no later than 6 weeks before the exam date. We'll hold the fee you submitted with your application until you’re scheduled in another exam.
- However, if you don’t pass an exam, or don’t take it for any reason, you must pay a re-examination fee before you can be scheduled to take it again.
Will I get my test results?
Because the exam is pass/fail, you won’t receive your exam scores if you pass the test. If you fail the test, we’ll tell you how many answers you got correct in each content area but won’t tell you which specific answers were incorrect. Scores are usually available 6-8 weeks after the exam.
Can I review a failed exam?
No, reviews of exams aren’t permitted. All candidates who fail the exam are provided a scoring breakdown in the subject areas covered by the exam.
How to reschedule an exam
You may ask to take the next available exam by submitting the Reexam or Exam Reschedule Application with a check or money order payable to the Department of Licensing for the appropriate rescheduling fee to:
Board of Registration for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors
Department of Licensing
PO Box 35001
Seattle, WA 98124-3401
Your request and fee must be postmarked by the reschedule deadlines above.