How to get your license: Alien firearms license
To get an alien firearms license, you must meet all of the following requirements:
- Be in the United States legally (passport and visa).
- Be a temporary resident alien of Washington State (visa).
- Have no pending trial, appeal, or sentencing on a charge that would prohibit you from having a license.
- Have no outstanding warrants for any charge, from any court.
- Have no court order or injunction against possessing a firearm.
- Have never been adjudicated mentally defective or incompetent to manage your own affairs.
- Have never been committed to a mental institution.
- Have no felony convictions.
- Within the past year, haven’t been an unlawful user of, or addicted to, marijuana, depressants, stimulants, narcotics, or any other controlled substance.
- Haven’t been convicted of 3 or more violations of Washington’s firearms laws within any 5-year period.
- Haven’t been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces.
- Aren’t currently subject to a court order restraining you from harassing, stalking, or threatening your child, an intimate partner, or the child of an intimate partner.
- Have no convictions for any of the following crimes committed by one family member against another:
- Assault in the fourth degree
- Reckless Endangerment
- Criminal Trespass in the first degree
- Violation of the provisions of a protection order or no-contact order restraining the person or excluding the person from the residence
How to apply
- Fill out an Alien Firearms License Application at your local county sheriff’s office.
- Bring all of the following:
- Valid, government-issued photo identification (for example, a Washington driver license or ID card).
- Your passport.
- Your visa.
- A valid Washington State hunting license, or documentation you are a member of a sports shooting club.
- The $82.50 or $92.50 fee in cash, check, or money order made payable to your local county sheriff’s office. This fee is non-refundable.
- The fee amount depends on how the law enforcement agency takes fingerprints. For details, see fees.
Where to apply
You must apply in person at the sheriff’s office in the county where you live. City police departments don’t issue this license.
Application hours vary from agency to agency. For specific business hours, please contact the law enforcement agency where you plan to apply. (By law, the issuing authority must accept completed applications for concealed pistol licenses during regular business hours.)
The sheriff’s office will fingerprint you and complete a background check before you’ll be issued an Alien Firearms License. Please allow 60 days for the background check to be completed.
How long your license is valid
Your alien firearms license is valid for 2 years from the date it is issued. It isn’t renewable. You must reapply every 2 years.
If you have questions about alien firearms licenses, email us at Firearms@dol.wa.gov or call 360.664.6616.