How to get your license: Concealed pistol license
You must meet all of the following requirements to get a concealed pistol license (RCW 9.41.070):
- Be 21 years of age or older at time of application.
- Be a United States citizen or a permanent resident alien with permanent resident card (green card).
- Have no pending trial, appeal, or sentencing on a charge that would prohibit you from having a license.
- Have no outstanding warrants for any charge, from any court.
- Have no court order or injunction against possessing a firearm.
- Have never been adjudicated mentally defective or incompetent to manage your own affairs.
- Have never been committed to a mental institution.
- Have no felony convictions, or adjudications for a felony offense, in this state or elsewhere. “Felony” means any felony offense under the laws of Washington, or any federal or out-of-state offense comparable to a felony offense under the laws of Washington.
- Within the past year, haven’t been an unlawful user of, or addicted to, marijuana, depressants, stimulants, narcotics, or any other controlled substance.
- Haven’t been convicted of 3 or more violations of Washington’s firearms laws within any 5-year period.
- Haven’t been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces.
- Aren’t currently subject to a court order restraining you from harassing, stalking, or threatening your child, an intimate partner, or the child of an intimate partner.
- Have never renounced your United States citizenship.
- Have no convictions for any of the following crimes committed by one family member against another:
- Assault IV
- Reckless Endangerment
- Criminal Trespass in the first degree
- Violation of the provisions of a protection order or no-contact order restraining the person or excluding the person from the residence
Where to apply
|If you live…
|In an unincorporated area of a county in Washington State
||Your county sheriff’s office|
|In an incorporated city or town in Washington State
- The police department in your city or town
- Your county sheriff’s office
|Outside of Washington State (not a Washington resident)
||Any local law enforcement agency in Washington|
Application hours vary from agency to agency. For specific business hours, please contact the law enforcement agency where you plan to apply. (By law, the issuing authority must accept completed applications for concealed pistol licenses during regular business hours.)
Documents you’ll need
You’ll need to bring all of the following when you apply:
- Valid, government-issued photo identification (for example, Washington driver license or ID card).
- If you don’t have a Washington State driver license or ID card, you must provide proof you have lived in the state for at least the last 90 days.
- The $52.50 fee in cash, check, or money order, payable to the law enforcement agency where you’re applying. This fee is non-refundable.
- If you’re in the military, your military ID and orders listing your station location.
Background check required
The law enforcement agency will fingerprint you and conduct a background check before you can be issued a license.
- If you’re a Washington State resident, it may take up to 30 days to complete the background check.
- If you’re a non-resident, it may take up to 60 days to complete the background check.
If you have a concealed pistol license from another state
Washington accepts concealed pistol licenses issued by a number of other states, as long as the handgun is carried in accordance with Washington law. The Washington State Attorney General’s website provides a list of states with concealed weapon reciprocity with Washington.
How long your license is valid
Your concealed pistol license is valid for 5 years from the date it is issued. You won’t receive a renewal notice, and it’s your responsibility to ensure your license hasn’t expired.
If your application is denied
Please contact the law enforcement agency you applied with.
- RCW 9.41.070: Concealed pistol license — Application — Fee — Renewal
- RCW 9.41.040: Unlawful possession of firearms — Ownership, possession by certain persons — Restoration of right to possess — Penalties