Frequently asked questions: Firearms dealer license
Who must have a firearms dealer license?
By law, you must have a firearms dealer license if you:
- Are engaged in the business of selling firearms at wholesale or retail.
- Have or are required to have a federal firearms license under 18 U.S.C. Sec. 923(a).
How long does it take to get my firearms dealer license?
It may take 30–60 days to complete the background check, depending on your residency requirement.
How long is my firearms dealer license valid?
Your firearms dealer license is valid for 1 year from the date of issuance.
How do I get pistol transfer forms?
Once you have your firearms dealers license, fax a copy of your valid state dealer license to 360.570.4945.
- If you’re a new dealer, we’ll send you a new dealer packet after we get the documents from the law enforcement agency where you applied.
What if I want to move my firearm store or business?
If you have a valid dealer’s license, apply for a replacement license at the law enforcement agency where the new business is located. You’ll need to bring your current FFL and Washington State business license showing the new location.
What if I open an additional firearms store?
If you open another firearms store, you must get a Washington firearms dealer license for the new location. You’ll need to bring all of the following:
- Your federal firearms license.
- Your Washington State business license.
- Valid, government-issued photo identification, such as a Washington driver license or ID card.
- A check or money order for the $125 fee, payable to the law enforcement agency where you’re applying.
Do employees who handle firearms purchases need to have a background check?
Yes, the employees’ fingerprints must be taken and mailed to the Washington State Patrol by the dealer. Contact the Washington State Patrol for fees and mailing address.
RCW 9.41.010(10): Terms defined