How to get your license: Home inspectors

Get educated

If you weren’t licensed before September 1, 2009, you’re required to take a board-approved, 120-hour Fundamentals of Home Inspection course, and mentor with an experienced home inspector for 40 hours of field training. See Approved course providers for a list of board-approved fundamental courses.

Submit an exam application

After you finish your education and field training, submit your home inspector exam application. Your exam application must include your:

  • Certificate of Completion from a board-approved Fundamentals of Home Inspection course (photocopies accepted).
  • Completed field training log with an experienced home inspector (photocopies accepted). You can find the home inspection field training form on page 3 of the exam application.
  • Completed Home Inspector Examination Application.

Mail your exam application and supporting documents to:

Home Inspectors
Department of Licensing
PO Box 9021
Olympia, WA 98507-9021

After we evaluate and approve your exam application, we’ll mail you an exam eligibility approval letter with contact information for the exam provider and instructions for completing the process.

Take the exam

You must contact the exam provider to schedule your exam time and location, and arrange payment for your exam. The cost for the full exam is $300. See Exams for more information about scheduling and taking the exam.

  • If you pass the exam, the exam provider will give you state and national pass reports you’ll need for your license application.
  • If you fail all or part of the exam, you must wait 24 hours before scheduling with the exam provider to retake your exam. The cost to retake your exam is $125 for the state portion, and $250 for the national portion.

Apply for your license

After passing your home inspector exam, submit your home inspector license application. Your license application must include your:

  • State and national pass reports from the exam provider (photocopies accepted).
  • Completed Home Inspector License Application with your date of birth and Social Security number (required by RCW 26.23.150).
  • A check or money order for the $680 licensing fee, made payable to the Department of Licensing.

Mail your application, pass reports, and fee to:

Home Inspectors
Department of Licensing
PO Box 3917
Seattle, WA 98124-3917

After we evaluate and approve your license application, we’ll process your application in our licensing system and mail your license to you.

Questions?

If you have any questions about the licensing process, please email us at DOLINTHomeInspectors@dol.wa.gov or ca11 360.664.6487.

Washington Healthcare Finder
Access Washington – official state government website