Members: Board of Licensure for Landscape Architects

Current board members

  • Karen Kiest, Chair
    Seattle, WA
    Term expires: September 5, 2013
  • Deborah Peters, Vice Chair
    Seattle, WA
    Term expires: September 5, 2017
  • Len Zickler, Secretary
    Spokane, WA
    Term expires: September 5, 2017
  • William Bernstein
    Seattle, WA
    Term expires: September 5, 2015
  • Becky Malleck, Public Member
    Tumwater, WA
    Term expires: September 5, 2014

How are board officers selected?

Elections for new board officers are held in April of every year.

About the board

What does the board do?

  • Examines and licenses landscape architects in the state.
  • Investigates violations of state regulations related to the practice of landscape architecture.
  • Recommends rules and regulations for administering licensing and regulatory laws.

Who is on the board?

The board consists of 5 members:

  • 4 licensed landscape architects who:
    • Are residents of Washington State.
    • Have at least 8 years’ experience in responsible charge of landscape architectural work or teaching.
  • 1 public member who:
    • Is a resident of Washington State.
    • Isn’t a past or present member of any other state licensing board.
    • Doesn’t make his or her own livelihood from, nor have a parent, spouse, or child who makes their respective livelihood from, providing landscape architecture services.

For more information about the board, see RCW 18.96.040: Licensure board for landscape architects — Members — Qualifications.

Contact information

To contact board members, please email

Washington Healthcare Finder
Access Washington