How to become a certified trainer: Private investigators

The Washington State Legislature has not yet approved state operating and capital budgets for the 2017–19 biennium, which begins July 1. If the Legislature does not approve budgets by June 30, several state agencies will go through full or partial operations shutdowns. To find out what services will be effected, see Possible suspension of services starting July 1.

Who needs a license?

You must have a certified trainer endorsement to provide pre-assignment training for unarmed private investigators.

Requirements

All private investigator certified trainers must:

  • Be licensed as a private investigator agency principal, unarmed private investigator, or armed private investigator.
  • Have 3 years’ compensated investigative experience.
  • Pass an examination given by the Department of Licensing.

How to apply

Submit all of the following:

We’ll schedule an examination at the location you choose on the application within 3 weeks of receipt of your paid application.

For veterans

U.S. Veterans may be eligible for partial reimbursements of costs. For more information: Education and Training | Licensing and Certification

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website