How to get your license: Real estate brokers

The Washington State Legislature has not yet approved state operating and capital budgets for the 2017–19 biennium, which begins July 1. If the Legislature does not approve budgets by June 30, several state agencies will go through full or partial operations shutdowns. To find out what services will be effected, see Possible suspension of services starting July 1.

Who needs a license?

Any person who acts on behalf of a real estate firm to perform real estate brokerage services under the supervision of a managing broker.

Requirements

  • Be at least 18 years old.
  • Have a high school diploma or equivalent.
  • Successfully complete 90 hours of approved real estate education within 2 years before applying for the exam. This education must include:
    • A 60-hour course in Real Estate Fundamentals.
    • A 30-hour course in Real Estate Practices.
  • The real estate education requirements will be waived for qualified applicants currently licensed in another state.
  • Be ready to answer Criminal history questions and provide documents if needed.
  • Pass the broker's exam.

For a list of approved real estate education, see the Real Estate Education Course Catalog.

Before you apply

  • If you are licensed in another state:
    • Request the broker's exam by submitting a certified license history from the real estate licensing agency in the state where you're currently licensed to:
      Real Estate Licensing
      PO Box 9021
      Olympia, WA 98507
      Fax: 360.586.0998
      Email: realestate@dol.wa.gov
    • After we've reviewed your license history, we'll give instructions on how to take the broker's exam.
      • If you've had an active license in another state in the previous 6 months, you'll only need to take the Washington State part of the exam.
    • After you've passed the required portions of the exam, follow the instructions below to submit your application.

How to apply

  1. Login to apply. You'll need:
  2. Submit fingerprints for state and national background checks.
    • Inside Washington:
      • Go to www.identogo.com to schedule an appointment through MorphoTrust, our electronic fingerprinting vendor. You will pay IdentoGO for taking your fingerprints and for the background checks required for your license type.
    • Outside Washington:
      • Call Real Estate Regulatory at 360.664.6484 for fingerprint card submission instructions.
    • For more details, see Fingerprinting and background checks.
  3. We'll send you an email when your license is approved.
    • Your license will be issued in inactive status so it is available to be added to a firm.
    • Your license will be activated immediately when you accept an online request to join a firm.

License expiration

Your broker's license will expire 2 years after it's issued.

For veterans

U.S. Veterans may be eligible for partial reimbursements of costs. For more information: Education and Training | Licensing and Certification

Questions? Need help?

Contact us

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website