Course approval: Real estate educators

The Washington State Legislature has not yet approved state operating and capital budgets for the 2017–19 biennium, which begins July 1. If the Legislature does not approve budgets by June 30, several state agencies will go through full or partial operations shutdowns. To find out what services will be effected, see Possible suspension of services starting July 1.

Things to know

Courses expiring September 1, 2014 through August 31, 2016 will still be eligible to be renewed once. Contact us for a copy of the renewal application:

Who needs course approval?

Any approved school presenting real estate courses must get approval of the courses they offer.

  • All courses presented to students for clock-hour credit must be delivered by an approved school and instructor.
  • Courses must be approved before the date the course is offered for clock-hour credit. Upon approval, we’ll send a certificate of course approval to the school.

Mandated courses

Follow the instructions below if you want to offer mandated courses, including:

  • Real Estate Fundamentals
  • Real Estate Practices
  • Advanced Real Estate Practices
  • Real Estate Law
  • Advanced Real Estate Law
  • Business Management
  • Brokerage Management

How to apply to offer a new mandated course

To apply for approval of any of the courses above, submit all of the following:

  1. A completed Real Estate Prelicensing or Post Licensing Course Approval Application.
  2. A course outline with learning objectives and hourly breakdown.
  3. A copy of any texts, handouts, and other instructional materials.
  4. An examination with an answer key for review and approval (minimum 3 questions per clock hour).
  5. Fee - A check payable to Department of Licensing.
  6. If the course is delivered by distance education, a completed Real Estate Distance Education Delivery Method Application or a copy of the ARELLO certificate.

Other types of real estate courses

These courses must be at least 3 clock hours.

How to apply to offer other real estate courses

To apply for 4-year approval of non-mandated or continuing education courses, submit all of the following:

  • A completed Real Estate Continuing Education Course Approval Application.
  • A copy of each of the following:
    • The course curriculum and/or syllabus.
    • The course outline with learning objectives and hourly breakdown. (Be sure to highlight the core curriculum in your outline, if applicable.)
    • Texts, handouts, and other instructional materials.
    • If the course is 30 clock hours or more, the final examination and answer key.
    • If the course is delivered by distance education, a completed:
  • Fee - A check payable to the Department of Licensing for the fee for a 4-year period.

You may need to provide a second copy of course materials if requested.

Secondary education provider courses

An approved school may offer courses that are currently approved for another education provider.

Note: You may not use the following approval process for:

  • Real Estate Fundamentals
  • Real Estate Practices
  • Advanced Real Estate Practices
  • Real Estate Law
  • Advanced Real Estate Law
  • Real Estate Brokerage Management
  • Business Management
  • Courses that include the prescribed core curriculum.

How to apply to offer a new course

To apply for approval of secondary provider course content, submit all of the following:

Questions? Need help?

Contact us

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website