School approval: Real estate educators

The Washington State Legislature has not yet approved state operating and capital budgets for the 2017–19 biennium, which begins July 1. If the Legislature does not approve budgets by June 30, several state agencies will go through full or partial operations shutdowns. To find out what services will be effected, see Possible suspension of services starting July 1.

Who needs a school approval?

You must get approval before operating a school as the administrative body responsible for:

  • Submitting real estate courses to us for approval.
  • Delivering those courses under approved conditions.
  • Maintaining all pertinent records.

A school must be approved before offering courses for clock hour credit. Upon approval, we’ll send a certificate of school approval to the school.

How to apply for a new school

To apply for approval of a new school, submit all of the following:

  1. A completed Real Estate School Application with the administrator’s signature.
  2. A copy of the publication for students described in WAC 308-124H-907: Required publication.
  3. The course description described in WAC 308-124H-910: Course description.
  4. The résumé for the school administrator, with qualifications, including past and present real estate activities.
  5. A check for the fee for a 2-year period (payable to the Department of Licensing).

How to renew your school approval

If there are no changes in course content or in the original course approval application for a previously approved course, submit all of the following to renew for another 2-year period:

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website