How to update your license: Managing brokers

The Washington State Legislature has not yet approved state operating and capital budgets for the 2017–19 biennium, which begins July 1. If the Legislature does not approve budgets by June 30, several state agencies will go through full or partial operations shutdowns. To find out what services will be effected, see Possible suspension of services starting July 1.

Update your license online

Update the name on your license

  1. Login to your account.
  2. At your account dashboard, click Update on the row for your name.
  3. Follow the on-screen instructions to update your name.
  4. Your name update will take effect immediately, and you'll receive a license with your new name within 2-3 weeks.

Update your contact information

  1. Login to your account.
  2. At your account dashboard, click Update on the row for the information you want to update.
  3. Follow the on-screen instructions to make the update.
  4. The update will take effect immediately. You will not receive a new license.

Separate from a firm (inactivate your license)

Video Video: How to separate from a real estate firm

  • Managing brokers with a designated broker or branch manager endorsement should not separate from a firm until the Replace process has been completed.
  • Listings, and all real estate transactions, agreements, and other contracts related to providing brokerage services belong to the real estate firm, not to you.
  • If you haven't already done so, we recommend you communicate with your Designated Broker before separating from this firm.
  1. Login to your account.
  2. Click "Separate" on the dashboard row for your current firm.
  3. Confirm that you want to be separated from the firm.
  4. Your license will be immediately placed in inactive status. You can't work as a broker/managing broker until you are added by a new firm.

Respond to a firm request (transfer your license to a new firm or activate your license)

Video Video: How to respond to a firm request

  • If your license isn't already in inactive status, follow the instructions above to separate from your current firm. In most cases, your license must be in inactive status before you can be added by a new firm.
    • Exception: Managing brokers with a designated broker endorsement do not need to be in inactive status to be added to a firm.
  1. The new firm will make an online request to add you to the firm.
  2. You will receive an email that you have a pending request.
  3. Login to your account.
  4. Click "Pending request" in the firm row of your dashboard.
  5. Indicate if you want to be added to the firm.
    • If you select Yes, your license status will be changed to active. You'll receive and confirmation email, and you can immediately begin work as a broker/managing broker for the new firm. You’ll receive a license with the new firm information in 2-3 weeks.
      • Important! Selecting Yes means you are certifying to the information contained in the Criminal history during transfer/activation and Continuing education during transfer/activation sections below.
    • If you select No, your license status will remain inactive. You can't work as a broker/managing broker until you are added by a new firm.

Criminal history during transfer/activation

By accepting the request to be added to a firm, you are certifying under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that you have NOT/are NOT:

  1. Within the last 10 years, had any action (fines, suspension, revocation, censure, surrender, etc.) taken against any professional or occupational license, certificates, or permit held by you.
  2. Within the last 10 years, had any civil court order, verdict, or judgment entered against you.
  3. Within the last 10 years, defaulted or been convicted of or entered a plea of no contest to a gross misdemeanor or felony crime.
  4. Currently under indictment, or have a criminal complaint, charge, or information pending against you.
  5. Currently required to register as a sex offender.

Continuing education during transfer/activation

If your license has been inactive during at least one renewal period, by accepting the request to be added to a firm, you are certifying to the following under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington:

  • If your license has been inactive for more than three years: You have successfully completed an approved 30 clock hour course in real estate within one year before this application for active status; OR
  • If your license has been inactive for less than one year and the last renewal of your license was on inactive status: You have successfully completed 30 hours of approved continuing education, including a 3 hour core course; OR
  • If your license has been inactive and the first renewal of your license was on inactive status: You have successfully completed 90 hours of post-licensing education requirements.
  • If you are unsure of your continuing education requirements, call 360.664.6500 before activating your license.

Questions? Need help?

Contact us
Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website