Have your current brokerage sign off your license and mail it to: Real Estate Licensing
PO Box 9021
Olympia, WA 98507
If they don’t have the physical license, they can send a statement of release on signed letterhead by the designated broker. This doesn’t apply if you’re endorsed as a Designated Broker or Branch Manager.
You can be inactive as long as you want. But you’ll need to continue renewing every 2 years. Education will not be due at the time of an inactive renewal. Depending on the amount of time you stay inactive; you may or may not owe education when you reactivate.
It takes 10 to 14 business days if everything submitted is complete. Once it’s processed, it should be viewable on the license query within 24 hours. If additional information is needed, we’ll contact you or your firm.
Yes, if you’re properly licensed as an active managing broker, you may be endorsed as a designated broker for more than one firm, regardless of the ownership of the firm, as long as the businesses are separate entities with unique UBI numbers.
Although the law, RCW 18.85, states that an individual may act as a designated broker for more than 1 firm. it doesn’t involve oversight of the various business models where the broker endorsement may possibly be used. You should consult with your legal counsel for guidance in many of these situations.
You can establish 1 or more branch offices under the same name as the firm. Complete the proper application and pay the correct fee. Then we’ll issue a separate license for each branch office showing the location of the real estate firm and the particular branch.
No, all affiliated licensees will be licensed to a firm. Licensees must be actively licensed to an actively-licensed firm at all times. If the firm’s license expires, all affiliated brokers and managing brokers may no longer conduct real estate brokerage services.
No, even though all active real estate licenses are issued in the name of the firm, all firms must grant the authority to act on the firm’s behalf to a properly-licensed managing broker endorsed as the designated broker.
Get a certified license history from the real estate agency in the state you’re currently licensed. Submit it with a cover letter, include your contact information and mailing address. If you’d like to take the exam outside of Washington, please specify this in your cover letter. Mail it to: Real Estate Licensing
PO Box 9021
Olympia, WA 98507
If you’ve had an active license within the last 6 months, the education requirement and the National portion of the test will be waived.
When we get your receipt, we’ll send an approval letter, within 10 business days, with instructions on:
How to register for the exam,
A Washington State Real Estate Law Book, and
If applicable, a waiver to take the exam out of state.
It’s possible to obtain a managing broker approval if you have 5 years within the previous 7 working in Real Estate related fields such as property management, appraiser, etc. Submit a resume outlining your work experience to Debbie Wright, Real Estate Program Manager at email@example.com. After review, we’ll send you information regarding the approval process which includes completion of education and getting 5 letters of recommendation.
Yes. WAC 308-124C-130: Branch manager responsibilities describes responsibilities the branch manager will be held accountable for, but doesn’t cover all the activities the designated broker may delegate to the branch manager. Therefore, a delegation agreement should be in place between the designated broker and branch manager. Some examples of delegation are provided in the WAC.
Yes, you may supervise the training of new licensees if you and your designated broker have signed a written delegation agreement that includes authorization to supervise training. You will also want to know if part of your training supervision duties include responsibility for the heightened supervision of licensees with less than 2 years experience, as required by WAC 308-124C-125(9)(c).
There is no standard format or language required for a written delegation of duties. It should use language agreed to by the participants and/or their legal counsel. The written delegation is an agreement between you, the designated broker, and your delegated managing brokers.
No, any individual who is directly or indirectly negotiating with a lender must hold an active real estate license or be appropriately licensed by the Department of Financial Institutions. Negotiators are considered to be indirectly negotiating real estate sales with the lender, and:
Must hold active real estate licenses.
Be appropriately licensed by the Department of Financial Institutions, and work under the authority of their designated broker.
Unlicensed short sale negotiators are considered to be conducting unlicensed real estate activity. They may be ordered to cease and desist, and fined up to $5,000 per violation. If you use unlicensed short sale negotiators, you can be charged with aiding or abetting unlicensed activity and are subject to disciplinary action.
Receiving a check made out to the real estate firm.
Showing a rental unit or executing rental agreements under the direct instruction of the managing broker.
Providing information about the rental unit.
Assisting with the administrative, clerical, financial, or maintenance tasks.
The unlicensed person can’t advertise or tell the public that they are providing property management services, or hold or authorize disbursement of trust funds. For more information, please see RCW 18.85.151(12).
The bank will submit the funds to the state at least quarterly. The real estate office should keep appropriate records and ledger information on file. For more information, see RCW 18.85.285 and WAC 308-124E-105 (9).