Chapter 308-70 WAC
SCRAP METAL BUSINESS—RECYCLER—PROCESSOR—SUPPLIER

NEW SECTION

WAC 308-70-110 Definitions. (1) Employee means an employee of a
scrap metal business who is a person who appears on the payroll re-
cords of the business as an employee and for whom Social Security,
withholding tax, and all deductions required by law have been made.

(2) Agent, other than an authorized agent of the department of
licensing, means a person who presents written authorization from the

business bearing the business®s official title (i.e., logo, letter-
head, etc.).

(3) Department means the department of licensing of the state of
Washington.

(4) Director means the director of the department of licensing of
the state of Washington.

(5) Normal business hours - Processors and recyclers only. For
purposes of iInspection of a licensee®s licensed premises and records,
business hours must be 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., except for weekends and
holidays, unless otherwise posted. Business hours must be posted at
the licensee"s place of business. This business hour requirement does
not apply to suppliers.

(6) Scrap metal - As used in this chapter, scrap metal means any
used metal, as defined in chapter 19.290 RCW, that is no longer useful
as it was iIntended to be used in its original manufactured form, or
that 1s commonly aggregated for sale based on its intrinsic value to
be converted into another form and diverted from the waste stream for
recycling purposes.

(7) Common carrier means any person who undertakes to transport
property for the general public by motor vehicle for compensation as
outlined in chapter 81.80 RCW. For the purposes of this chapter, com-
mon carriers licensed under the provisions of chapter 81.80 RCW are
exempt from the scrap metal licensing requirements when transporting
scrap metal for hire.

NEW SECTION

WAC 308-70-120 Scrap metal business—Application for license.
The application for a scrap metal business®s license shall contain, in
addition to any other information the department may require, evidence
the application is approved by the local government planning and zon-
ing authorities pursuant to the provisions of the State Environmental
Policy Act, chapter 43.21C RCW.
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NEW SECTION

WAC 308-70-130 Fees. The following fees shall be charged by the
department of licensing:

Processor and Recycler Application, $1,250.00
Initial

Processor and Recycler Application, $625.00
Renewal

Supplier Application, Initial $350.00
Supplier Application, Renewal $175.00

NEW SECTION

WAC 380-70-140 Established place of business. (1) Scrap metal
processor.

(a) A scrap metal processor®s established place of business iIs a
place where:

(i) Scrap metal property may be stored lawfully; and

(i1) Hydraulic balers, shears, or shredders for recycling scrap
metal property may be used lawfully.

(b) There must be a building in which:

(1) The scrap metal processor"s license 1s conspicuously dis-
played;

(i1) An owner or employee is available during normal business
hours; and

(i11) The business books and records, as defined i1n chapter
19.290 RCW, are kept and made available for inspection during normal
business hours.

(c) There must be an exterior sign with the business name that is
clearly visible to the major avenue of traffic during business hours.

(d) The business®s operating hours must be clearly posted.

(2) Scrap metal recycler.

(a) A scrap metal recycler®s established place of business iIs a
place where scrap metal property may be stored lawfully.

(b) There must be a building in which:

(1) The scrap metal recycler®s license i1s conspicuously dis-
played;

(i1) An owner or employee of the business is available during
normal business hours; and

(i11) The business books and records are kept and made available
for inspection during normal business hours.

(c) There must be an exterior sign with the business name that is
clearly visible to the major avenue of traffic during business hours.

(d) The business®s operating hours must be clearly posted.

(3) Scrap metal supplier. A scrap metal supplier®s established
place of business 1is:

(a) An address at which the scrap metal supplier receives mail
and can normally be reached; and

(b) Where the business books and records, as defined iIn chapter
19.290 RCW, are kept and made available for iInspection.

(4) The director may waive any requirements pertaining to a scrap
metal business®s established place of business i1f such waiver both
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serves the purposes of this chapter and is necessary due to unique
circumstances.

NEW SECTION

WAC 308-70-150 Record of transactions. Any records originally
created and retained electronically must be made available in hard
copy upon the request of any designated authority named iIn chapter
19.290 RCW.

NEW SECTION

WAC 308-70-160 Scrap metal business license plates. (1) Each
plate set must be renewed annually. The cost for each plate set is
five dollars.

(2) The scrap metal business plates may be split, with one being
displayed on the front of the towing vehicle and the other on the rear
of the vehicle being towed.

NEW SECTION

WAC 308-70-170 Expiration of scrap metal business license. (1)
The scrap metal business license expiration is established by the
business licensing service upon department approval of the license.
Proration of fees may be necessary to align the scrap metal business
license expiration with other licenses held by the business. The li-
cense will expire annually after any initial proration process.

(2) Any special license plates issued to a scrap metal business
shall expire on the same date as the expiration of the scrap metal
business license.

NEW SECTION

WAC 308-70-180 Change of address. A licensee must notify the
department within ten days of any change of address of any business
location or of the addition of a new location.

NEW SECTION

WAC 308-70-190 Statement of change in business structure, owner-
ship interest, or control. A licensee must, within ten days of any
change In its business ownership or structure, file with the depart-

[ 3] 0TS-5838.3



ment a statement that specifically describes the change that has oc-
curred in i1ts business structure or iIn its ownership interest.

NEW SECTION

WAC 308-70-200 Change 1In business structure while licensed.
Upon a change of business structure of a licensed scrap metal busi-
ness, the licensee must apply for a new license and pay original li-
censing fees under the new entity. Examples of a change of business
structure include, but are not limited to, changing from a sole pro-
prietorship to a corporation, a corporation to a limited liability
company, or if a partner or partners In a partnership change. The firm
may request to keep the previous license number.

NEW SECTION

WAC 308-70-210 Sale, transfer or other disposition of a sole
proprietorship license. Upon the sale, transfer or other disposition
of a sole proprietorship licensee®s scrap metal business:

(1) The purchaser or transferee must file a new application for a
license; the fees are the same as for an original application.

(2) The former owner must surrender to the department all special
license plates. The new owner or transferee must purchase new plates
in the new licensee"s name.

NEW SECTION

WAC 308-70-220 Closure of business. Within ten business days of
the closure of a scrap metal business, the business must return the
license and the special license plates to the department for cancella-
tion.
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