How to get your license: Permanent cosmetics artists

The Washington State Legislature has not yet approved state operating and capital budgets for the 2017–19 biennium, which begins July 1. If the Legislature does not approve budgets by June 30, several state agencies will go through full or partial operations shutdowns. To find out what services will be effected, see Possible suspension of services starting July 1.

Who needs a license

You must have a permanent cosmetics artist license if you charge a fee to apply permanent eyeliner, eyebrows, lip liner, lip color, or repigmentation by implanting pigment under the skin. This is a form of tattooing.

Requirements

To get a permanent cosmetics artist license, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years old.
  • Have a current bloodborne pathogens certificate. To learn where you can get this training, see Training resources.

How to apply

  1. Complete a Body Art, Body Piercing, Tattoo Artist, Permanent Cosmetics License, Renewal, or Reinstatement Application.
  2. Mail your application to the address on the form. Be sure to include all of the following:
    • Completed application form.
    • Any necessary supporting documents.
    • Check or money order for the fee (payable to the Department of Licensing).

How long your license is valid

Your license is valid for 1 year after we issue it.

Related information

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website