How to renew your license: For hire/taxi vehicle certificates

Due to facility issues, this licensing program has limited operations. There may be delays in responding to requests. We apologize for the inconvenience. We’re working toward resuming all business operations as soon as possible.

Things to know

  • Vehicle certificates expire in 1 year
  • You can renew 120 days before they expire

The applicant/licensee must comply with all applicable laws and rules, even if not covered below.

How to renew

Renew online with the Department of Revenue

What you'll need:

  • A valid email address, if you’d like your vehicle certificates emailed to you for faster service
  • If adding vehicles, supporting documents shown below, ready for upload
  • MasterCard, Visa, or American Express credit/debit card (transaction fee charged) or bank account information for E–check for:
    • Applicable BLS fees
    • Vehicle certificate and taxi meter fees

Want to renew by mail?

Follow the instructions on your renewal letter. If you did not receive a renewal letter, contact Business Licensing Service at 800.451.7985. Have your Unified Business Identification (UBI) number ready.

Supporting documents for your renewal

  • If you are adding vehicles:
    • Vehicle registration certificates for added vehicles* – Copy for each taxi with Use Class of ”F/H” or ”CAB”. See sample registration.
    • Updated Certificate of liability insurance to show added vehicles* – It must show:
      • Insurance company name – approved to do business in WA
      • Policy number
      • Name of insured (owner name) and operating name (DBA/trade name)
      • Coverage effective and expire dates
      • $325,000 – minimum combined single limit coverage or $300,000/$100,000/$25,000 – split limit coverage
      • Year, make and VIN of each car – VIN must match the registration
      • Certificate holder box shows – State of Washington, Department of Licensing, PO Box 9039, Olympia, WA 98507–9039
*Your application may be delayed if the business owner and DBA/trade names are not the same on all the documents.

After you renew

After all correct documents have been received, we will send your license to the address on file within 14 business days. If you provided an email address, your vehicle certificates will be emailed to you.

Related information

Questions? Need help?

Contact us

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website