Auction procedure

Due to facility issues, this licensing program has limited operations. There may be delays in responding to requests. We apologize for the inconvenience. We’re working toward resuming all business operations as soon as possible.

Requirements for registered tow truck operators

When auctioning abandoned vehicles, you must:

  • Publish a notice 3–10 days before the auction.
  • If the bidding site is different than the licensed office location, post a visible sign at your office with the details of the auction location.
  • Hold auctions during daylight hours on normal business days.
  • Post the following at the bidding site:
    • The auction procedures.
    • The newspaper ad listing the vehicles for sale.
  • Allow a 3-hour public viewing period before the auction.
  • Hold the auction so everyone present has equal time and opportunity to bid.
  • Use an open bid process, include all written bids, so everyone knows the dollar value that must be exceeded.
  • If you choose to use pre-auction bid methods, written bids:
    • May be submitted up to 5 days before the auction.
    • Must identify the specific vehicle and bid amount.
  • Record the 2 highest bids in writing.
  • If the high bidder defaults, give the next bidder the right to purchase the vehicle for the amount of his or her bid.
  • If you choose to bid at the auction, you must disclose the bid as such and may not use it to set a minimum for other bids.

Requirements for bidders

  • All bidders must be present at the auction, unless they have submitted written bids. (The tow truck operator may choose not to allow pre-auction written bids.)
  • The successful bidder must apply for a title within 15 days, unless otherwise provided by law.

Related laws

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website