CDL instruction permit (CDIP)
Who can apply for a CDIP
Any driver over 18 years of age with a valid Washington driver license can apply for a commercial driver instruction permit (CDIP). You must be at least 21 years of age to operate commercial vehicles from state to state (interstate).
How to apply for a CDIP
To get a CDIP, you must pass a knowledge test. You may apply for a CDIP at any driver licensing office that offers knowledge testing (call to find out). Bring the following with you:
- Your current license.
- Your Social Security number, which will be used for identification purposes. This is a mandatory requirement under federal law (49 USC 31308) and Washington state law(RCW 46.25.070).
- The $10 application fee. You may pay with:
- MasterCard and American Express credit or debit cards, and some Visa debit cards.
- Credit and debit cards not accepted at Coulee Dam, Davenport, Friday Harbor, Forks, Goldendale, Newport, Republic, or South Bend.
- A vendor-charged convenience fee is added to all transactions paid with a debit or credit card at driver licensing offices.
How long a CDIP is valid
The CDIP is valid for 6 months and may be renewed only once.
CDIP driving restrictions
After you have been issued a CDIP:
- You must be accompanied by another driver holding a CDL when you drive a commercial vehicle. The driver who accompanies you must:
- Hold a CDL that is valid for the type of commercial vehicle you are driving.
- Have at least 2 years’ experience driving the type of commercial vehicle you are driving.
- Have at least 5 years’ total driving experience.
- Occupy the seat beside you for the purpose of giving instruction.
- You can’t operate any commercial vehicle classified or placarded for hazardous materials.