CDL suspensions: Refusing to submit to a breath or blood test while driving any motor vehicle

How long will my license be disqualified?

  • First incident: 1 year (3 years if the incident occurred while you were transporting hazardous materials.)
  • Second incident or more: For life

Will my CDL be affected if I enter a deferred prosecution program?

Your Commercial Driver License (CDL) may still be disqualified when you enter into a deferred prosecution program following an arrest for driving under the influence (DUI) or physical control. We’ll stay (stop) the suspension or revocation against your personal driving privilege, but we’re required to disqualify your CDL endorsement.

If you don’t have a CDL, we’ll invalidate your commercial driving privilege, which prevents you from getting a CDL for the time periods shown.

How do I re-qualify?

  • First incident:
    • Pass the CDL knowledge and driving tests.
    • Show a certificate of completion dated after January 2009 from an Approved School or Registered Employer.
    • For a hazardous materials endorsement, pass a separate knowledge test. (We also may require you to show us a letter from the Transportation Security Administration stating you passed their background check.)
    • Pay a $20 re-qualification fee.
  • Second incident or more: You can’t re-qualify from a lifetime disqualification.

Can I appeal the disqualification?

  • If the incident occurred in a commercial vehicle, you may request a hearing no later than 15 days before the date the disqualification would take effect. For more information, see How to request a hearing.
  • If the incident occurred in a personal vehicle, you may only request a hearing for the suspension of your personal driving privileges, not your commercial driving privileges.

Related laws

RCW 46.25.090(1)(e) and (2): Disqualification — Grounds for, period of — Records.

Washington Healthcare Finder
Access Washington