Renew your EDL/EID

Things to know

  • You must be 24–70 years old to renew online or through License eXpress. Other restrictions may apply.
  • You'll need to visit an office if you:
    • Are under 24 or over 70 years old
    • Need to pass the vision screening
    • Need a new photo taken

You have 4 options:

  1. License eXpress
  2. Online (without a License eXpress account)
  3. At a driver licensing office. Be prepared to wait in line. See Tips for visiting an office: Driver licensing offices.
  4. By mail, if your renewal letter gives you this option.

Is your address up-to-date?

Because your residence address is on your driver license, make sure it's updated. If needed, please change your address before you renew.

When can I renew?

You can renew up to:

  • 1 year before your license expires. It usually expires on your birthday.
  • or
  • 60 days after it's expired. We won’t charge a late fee, but you could be penalized by law enforcement.

Save a trip, skip the line, save some time!

Did you know you may be able to renew your license online? Start an online renewal to find out.

If your license has been expired over:

Most renewal periods are for 6 years. Some drivers were randomly selected to renew less than 6 years. Their fee is adjusted accordingly. Your renewal notice will give you the date and fee. See WA diver license renewal period is changing from 5 to 6 years.

Check if you need proof of residence

Find out if your address matches the USPS (usps.com). If the search results don't match, or no results are found, you may want to bring verification of your address when you renew.

Related information

Questions? Need help?

Call us: 360.902.3900

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website