Driving while a license is revoked (1st degree)

Why was my license revoked?

  • You were convicted of 3 offenses requiring mandatory suspension or revocation of a driver license, as listed in RCW 46.65.020(1).
  • or
  • You were found to have committed or were convicted of 20 or more of the moving violations listed in WAC 308-104-160 within a 5-year period.

How long will my license be revoked?

A minimum of 1 year.

Can I get a restricted license?

No, you can’t be issued any type of driver license during this revocation.

Can I contest or appeal the revocation?

Yes, you may request an administrative review within 15 days from the date on your suspension letter. The suspension letter we send to you includes a form to request a review of the suspension.

How can I get my license back?

To be considered for a hearing interview about the revocation, you can’t be cited or found to have committed any new traffic violations within the first year of your revocation.

Get step-by-step instructions

There may be other issues you’ll need to take care of to get your license back. To find out what you need to do, see Learn how to reinstate your license.

Related laws

RCW 46.20.342(a): Driving while license invalidated — Penalties — Extension of invalidation

Washington Healthcare Finder
Access Washington – official state government website