Vehicular assault

Why was my license revoked?

You were convicted in court and they submitted the conviction information to us to be recorded on your driving record.

How long will my license be revoked?

1 year.

Can I get a restricted license?

You may be eligible for an Ignition Interlock License (IIL) if all of the following are true:

  • The vehicular assault conviction involved alcohol or drugs.
  • Nothing else on your driving record would prevent issuing an IIL.

Can I contest or appeal the revocation?

Yes, you may request an administrative review within 15 days from the date on your suspension letter. The suspension letter we send to you includes a form to request a review of the suspension.

How can I get my license back?

The date you’re eligible to reinstate your driver license depends on the amount of time you’re incarcerated.

  • You must provide us with any information about being incarcerated for this incident. If you’re incarcerated and released before serving 1 year; you, the facility, or your probation officer must send us documents showing the date you were released.
  • When you’re eligible to reinstate your driver license, you must file proof of financial responsibility (SR-22) for 3 years from the date you’re eligible to reinstate your license for that incident.

Get step-by-step instructions

There may be other issues you’ll need to take care of to get your license back. To find out what you need to do, see Learn how to reinstate your license.

Related laws

Washington Healthcare Finder
Access Washington