Who needs to take the test?
To get a Washington State driver license, most drivers will have to pass a knowledge test of traffic safety laws.
You may not have to take a knowledge or driving test if:
- You present a valid driver license from another state.
- You don’t have a medical or physical condition which indicates that testing is required.
Before you take the test
- Apply for a driver license or permit with us.
Because your scores can’t be entered until we’ve created a record for you, you can’t take your test until you’ve applied with the Department of Licensing for a driver license or instruction permit. To apply:
- Study the Washington Driver Guide.
All the information you’ll need to pass the test is in this guide. You may also want to try the practice test to get an idea of the types of questions you’ll see.
What to expect
- You’ll take the test at a testing location.
- There are 25 questions on the test. You must get 20 or more right to pass the test.
If you take the knowledge test at a:
- Driver licensing office, the fee for 1 knowledge test is included in the $35 license application fee (additional tests are $35 each).
- Driver training school, please check with the school to find out how much they charge for testing. Testing fees vary between schools. (In addition to the testing fee you pay the school, you’ll need to pay a $35 application fee and $45 licensing fee to the Department of Licensing.)
Frequently asked questions
What happens after I pass the knowledge test?
After you pass the knowledge test, you should schedule an appointment to take the driving test.
What if I fail the knowledge test?
If you fail the knowledge test the first time, you can take it again in 4 hours. If you fail the test a second time, you can take it again in 1 day.