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Enhanced Driver License and Identification Card

Recent federal legislation requires people traveling into the U.S., by
air, to present a valid passport. For land and sea border crossing, the
passport requirement will start June 1, 2009. To preserve travel, trade and
cultural ties with British Columbia and increase security at the border, the
Washington State Department of Licensing will offer an Enhanced Driver

License and Identification card (EDL/ID).

The EDL/ID meets federal requirements and best practices for travel
documents. It is an approved alternative travel document, to a U.S.
Passport, for reentry into the U.S. at land and sea borders between
the U.S., Canada, Mexico and the Caribbean.

Quick facts

* The EDL/ID became available in January 2008.

+ Participation is voluntary.

* The cost is $15 more than a driver license or ID card.

* You must apply in-person for the EDL/ID, have your photo taken,
be interviewed by our staff, and provide documents to prove your
U.S. citizenship, identity, and Washington State residence. Go
online to www.dol.wa.gov for a list of accepted documents.

* You can apply for the EDL/ID at 14 of our Licensing Service
Office locations across the state. Go to www.dol.wa.gov for a list of
participating offices.

* The following security enhancements included in the EDL/ID are
industry best practices:

* An icon on the front of the card to indicate that it is an EDL/ID.

* The back of the card will have a Machine Readable Zone, just
like a passport, that can be scanned at the border.

* Passive vicinity radio frequency identification (RFID) will be
embedded in the card. This RFID is required by the federal
government to facilitate rapid identification checks at the
border.

* The RFID tag embedded in the EDL/ID will have a unique
reference number and will not contain personal information.

* Data encryption, secure networks, and firewalls will protect the
transmission of EDL/ID information.
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Minors

Under the final rules for
the Western Hemisphere
Travel Initiative (WHTT)
land and sea border crossing
requirements, minors
under age 16 are exempt
from WHTI and will only
be required to present a
certified birth certificate, or
other citizenship document
for reentry into the U.S.

If you are 18 years old and
your parent or guardian
provides proof of your
1dentity, you may use

your parent or guardian’s
address to prove you

are a Washington State
resident. Your parent or
guardian must live in
Washington State and have
a Washington State driver
license or ID card, or present
other acceptable documents
for proof of residence.

Go to www.dol.wa.gov for
a complete list of accepted
documents.
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