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Choose the best answer. Please select only one answer per question. Passing score is 100%.

  1.	 An architect may sign and seal work done by another person if:
	 a.	 It is prepared by their employee.
	 b.	 It is prepared by the client.
	 c.	 It is prepared by another firm.
	 d.	 All of the above.

  2.	 In order to sign and seal a technical submission based on prototypical documents, an architect only needs 
to obtain permission from the document’s legal owner.

	 True
	 False

  3.	 Space planners and interior designers must register as architects before offering their services in 
Washington State.

	 True
	 False

  4.	 A construction firm has been offered a project consisting of the design and construction of an eight unit 
apartment building. They have hired an architectural firm, licensed in Washington to perform the design. 
In the future the construction firm would like to offer design/build services for similar and larger projects. 
If they name the designated architect of the architectural firm they used on the first eight unit project as 
their designated architect, they can receive a certificate of authorization as a registered architectural firm 
in Washington.

	 True
	 False

  5.	 Your firm has been hired to design an addition to a local hospital. A group of investors owns a hotel 
adjacent to the hospital and they are concerned the addition will impact the views from the hotel’s rooftop 
lounge. The group of investors offers you the design work on their four hotel expansion project if you are 
able to design the hospital addition with no impact to the views from their lounge. 
Under these circumstances you should:

	 a.	 Accept the investment group’s offer, it’s not ideal but you’re confident you can meet both the 
hospital’s and hotel’s needs.

	 b.	 Fully disclose the investment group’s offer to the hospital in writing.
	 c.	 Decline the investment group’s offer because it is not in your client’s best interest.

  6.	 A licensed architect who violates any provision of RCW 18.08 or WAC 308-12 is guilty of a misdemeanor 
and may also be subject to a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed a thousand dollars for each offense.

	 True
	 False

  7.	 If the Board suspends an architect’s license for default on a federally or state-guaranteed educational loan 
or service-conditional scholarship, can the architect continue practicing?

	 Yes
	 No

  8.	 Can an architect have his/her license suspended for being found in non-conformance with a support 
order?

	 Yes
	 No



  9.	 “Person” is defined and used in RCW 18.08 to mean an individual.
	 True
	 False

10.	 You must renew your Architect Certificate of Registration every year.
	 True
	 False

11.	 How often must an Architect Firm renew its Certificate of Authorization?
	 a.	 Every year.
	 b.	 Every 2 years.
	 c.	 Every 5 years.
	 d.	 Never, because it is a one-time fee.

12.	 Which of the following activities require an architect license?
	 a.	 Preparing construction documents for multi-family buildings less than four dwelling units.
	 b.	 Preparing construction documents for multi-family buildings more than four dwelling units.
	 c.	 Administering the construction contract for buildings less than 4000 square feet.
	 d.	 All of the above.

13.	 An architect must stamp and seal:
	 a.	 All technical submissions required for building permits or regulatory approvals that are filed with 

local authorities.
	 b.	 Every sheet of drawings you prepare.
	 c.	 Documents you prepare for exempt structures.
	 d.	 All of the above.

14.	 What is the difference between a Certificate of Registration and a Certificate of Authorization?
	 a.	 A Certificate of Authorization is issued to an individual and a Certificate of Registration is issued to 

a business.
	 b.	 A Certificate of Registration is issued to an individual and a Certificate of Authorization is issued to 

a business.

15. 	 For how many years must a registrant retain records of professional development activities?
	 a.	 2
	 b.	 5
	 c.	 10
	 d.	 12

16.	 When may you call yourself an architect without a Washington license?
	 a.	 If you are a United States government employee or officer engaged in architectural activities solely 

for said government and are currently licensed in any U.S. jurisdiction.
	 b.	 If you have secured a temporary license.
	 c.	 If you have obtained an NCARB file.
	 d.	 Any of the above.

17.	 After being served a statement of charges or statement of intent to deny, a license holder or applicant may 
file a request for a hearing with the disciplinary authority within how many days?

	 a.	 7
	 b.	 10
	 c.	 14
	 d.	 20

18.	 When reapplying after your architect’s license was suspended as part of an earlier disciplinary 
proceeding, you may not be held to the stipulations and ruling of the earlier proceeding.

	 True
	 False



19.	 Appealing a suspension of your architect’s license will cancel the suspension until the appeal can be 
decided.

	 True
	 False

20.	 If you were disciplined or denied a license by the board, you may appeal the decision.
	 True
	 False

21.	 How many Professional Development Hours (continuing education) are required every two years?
	 a.	 8
	 b.	 16
	 c.	 20
	 d.	 24

22.	 You will not be charged a late penalty if you did not receive a renewal notice from the Department of 
Licensing.

	 True
	 False

23.	 Actions that can be imposed on an architect found guilty of unprofessional conduct include:
•	 Revocation of their license for an interval of time.
•	 Suspension of their license for a fixed or indefinite term.
•	 Restriction or limitation of their practice.
•	 Satisfactory completion of a specific program of remedial education or treatment.
•	 Monitoring of their practice.
•	 Censure or reprimand.
•	 Compliance with conditions of probation for a designated period of time.
•	 Payment of a fine for each violation.
•	 Denial of an initial or renewal license application for an interval of time.
•	 Other corrective action.

	 What is the maximum number of actions listed above that can be imposed on them?
	 a.	 Only one.
	 b.	 No more than two.
	 c.	 Any combination, but not all.
	 d.	 All of them.

24.	 An architect providing services outside the scope of practice of architecture, without appropriate licensing 
and/or expertise, is violating the law.

	 True
	 False

25.	 All costs associated with complying with a disciplinary action are the obligation of:
	 a.	 The licensee or applicant.
	 b.	 All licensees in the form of license fees.
	 c.	 The Department of Licensing.
	 d.	 The State General Fund.

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that I have been the sole person to 
complete the above exam of Washington State law and rule as it pertains to the practice of Architecture.
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