
What you need to know
Limousine chauffeurs perform an important 
transportation service in Washington State. 
As a chauffeur, it is important for you to 
follow the laws and rules that regulate the 
services you provide. 

Here are the basics of what you need to 
know under current limousine laws:

May I offer rides?
•	 No. You may not offer rides 

to anyone or make any other 
arrangements from your vehicle.

•	 All trips must be dispatched from your 
business office and not arranged through 
you, a hotel employee or anyone else. 

•	 You may not ask persons on the street if 
they want to hire your limousine.

•	 Your fares must be set at the time a 
customer calls your office – not at the 
pickup point.

How do I pick up customers?
•	 Park legally.

•	 Be professional and courteous.

•	 Don’t wait in taxi zones or obstruct 
disabled parking. 

•	 Don’t park and leave your vehicle in a 
designated “passenger load zone” or 
overstay the time limit.

•	 Don’t bother customers or other drivers. 

•	 Don’t touch any person or their luggage 
without permission. 

•	 Don’t block pedestrians. 

•	 Don’t stand at the doorways to 
businesses so that people must walk 
around you. 

•	 Don’t call yourself a taxi, or provide taxi 
service if you are licensed as a limousine. 

Am I qualified? 
You must:

•	 be at least 21 years old.

•	 have a valid WA State driver’s license.

•	 complete and pass a training course 
approved by the Department of Licensing.

•	 successfully complete a Washington 
State Patrol background check.

•	 submit a physician’s medical certification. 
File it with your business and renew it 
every three years. 

•	 not have been convicted of vehicular 
homicide, vehicular assault or any other 
relevant offense.

What do I need to have 
with me?

The vehicle must have:

•	 the valid limousine vehicle certificate  
and sticker.

•	 proof of required insurance.

•	 the vehicle registration.

•	 special needs certificate and 
documentation, if the vehicle is not  
owned by your company.
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Where do I find limousine laws 
and rules? 

•	 Department of Licensing: You can find 
the Washington State limousine laws and 
rules on-line at: dol.wa.gov/business/
limousine. You may also request a copy 
of “The Laws Relating to Limousine 
Carriers” by calling 360-664-1414, or 
email mls@dol.wa.gov. 

What are the consequences for 
not following these laws?

•	 For violating limousine laws and rules, 
you, and your carrier could be subject 
to fines of $500 to $5,000 for each 
infraction, as well as additional penalties 
such as license revocation. 

Does Seattle/Tacoma Airport 
have additional regulations? 

•	 Yes. The Port of Seattle assumes 
regulatory authority for limousine services 
at SeaTac Airport. In addition to licensing 
requirements of the State, the Port has its 
own regulations and requires chauffeurs 
to obtain a for-hire driver credential to 
operate at SeaTac Airport. 

•	 Port of Seattle requirements may be 
found at the Ground Transportation 
Information Booth at SeaTac Airport, or 
by calling 206-787-5906 and requesting 
the most current regulations and 
applications. 

The Department of Licensing has a policy of providing equal 
access to its services.  If you need special accommodation, 
please call (360) 664-1389 or TTY (360) 664-0116.
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