## ALIEN FIREARMS LICENSE PROCESSING INSTRUCTIONS 2SHB1052

- 1. A non-immigrant, temporarily residing in Washington State completes the application and presents it, along with either the \$85.25 or \$95.25 non-refundable fee, to their County sheriff's office. Signature is obtained from the licensee upon application. Copies of their passport and visa; a valid hunting license or documentation that the applicant is a member of a sport shooting club must be provided.
- 2. The law enforcement agency takes either one live scan print or two complete sets of fingerprints, and completes a background check. The license fee total is \$50.00 plus what type of fingerprinting system the county uses, plus the FBI fingerprint costs of \$19.25. For a total of either \$85.25-Live Scan or \$95.25-Manual.
- 3. The application is approved or denied stemming from the background check within a 60 day period by county law enforcement.
- 4. Processing of the license:
  - o Check the appropriate fee box indicating the fees collected.
  - o Input the date of the application was initiated in the space provided.
    - This should be the date the person submitted the application not the same as the issue date.
  - o Input any distinguishing marks information in the space provided.
  - Enter previous license number (if any), expiration date, name and date of birth listed on the previous license. This includes renewal, replacements, and name changes.
  - o Complete the country of origin and place of birth section.
  - o Remember to have the person read and sign the statement at the bottom of the license.
  - o Complete the actual perforated license portion of the form.
    - The expiration date is 2 years from the date of issue.
    - The full name must be entered.
    - Residential (physical) address. No P.O. Boxes.
    - Drivers license or state ID card.
    - Race.
    - Birthday, sex, weight, height, eye and hair color.
    - The ORI number of the issuing agency.
    - Record the Alien Firearms License number issued in the space provided.
- 5. Copies and fees distribution:



The Department of Licensing has a policy of providing equal access to its services. If you need special accommodations, please call 360-664-6616, or for the hearing impaired, TTY (360) 664-8885.

- o White copy to the licensee; within 7 days of issuance of the license, the canary copy must be sent to Dept. of Licensing, P.O. Box 9649, Olympia WA. 98507-9649; the pink copy is retained by the agency for six years.
- o License fee of \$50.00 to be retained by the issuing county agency.
- O Distribute the fingerprinting fees to the Washington State Patrol for both the FBI (\$19.25) and WSP fingerprinting costs (\$16.00 for live scan and \$26.00 for ink fingerprint cards).
- o Department of Licensing does not receive any fees with this license.
- **6. AFL Denial** occurs when the issuing agency determines that the applicant is prohibited from possessing firearms during the background check.

## Procedure:

- Applicant completes an application for the AFL.
- The county sheriff's office collects the non-refundable license fee at the time of application.
- The background check results in the applicant being ineligible to possess a firearm.
- The applicant is denied by the law enforcement agency and is notified through official correspondence.
- The LEA writes DENIED across the face of the pink copy.
- The LEA attaches the denial letter to the pink copy of the AFL and sends it to DOL at P.O. Box 9649, Olympia WA 98507-9649.
- If the applicant's firearm rights are restored, an entirely new application needs to be processed, including new fees.
- 7. **AFL revocation** occurs when an individual who possesses a valid alien firearms license has become ineligible to possess firearms or is found mentally incompetent. Example a conviction that makes the individual ineligible to possess a firearm.

## Procedure:

- The issuing LEA receives notification that an alien firearms license holder becomes ineligible to possess the AFL under RCW 9.41.040 or 9.41.045.
- Issuing agency notifies the license holder to turn in their AFL.
- The issuing agency notifies the Firearms Unit and licensee of the "revoked status" through official correspondence.
- The Firearms Unit will place a "revoked status" on the individuals existing record in the database.
- If the license holder's firearm rights are ever restored, then a new (original) alien firearms license is issued with the corresponding license fee.

