- Vehicle and vessel licensing offices can’t perform transactions on Saturday, December 10.
- Some vehicle and vessel online services, like tab renewal, won’t be available December 7-12 while we update our system.
- On December 12, 2016, we’ll begin using a new vehicle and vessel computer system.
- In the days following the launch of our new system, you may experience longer than usual wait times.
Learn more: DOL vehicle licensing system will be down on December 10 for system replacement (licensingexpress.wordpress.com).
In Washington State some vehicles need to get an emissions test. Washington State contracts with Applus+ Technologies, Inc. to provide vehicle emission testing. Some additional businesses are authorized to test your vehicle.
- Find out if your vehicle needs to be tested
- Get cost and testing information
- Find a test station
- Get your emissions test
- Use your test results
1. Find out if your vehicle needs to be tested
- Check your tab renewal notice, it’ll say if you need an emission test. If you don’t have your tab renewal notice and your tabs are due, you can find out by starting a renewal online or through your License eXpress account. If you need an emissions test you'll be stopped and told you need to get a test.
- If you want to know which vehicles need an emission test (model year and kinds of vehicles that never need emissions tests) or where testing is required visit the Applus+ website.
- Military personnel: Federal law requires your vehicle to be tested regardless of where it’s registered if you drive 60 days or more a year:
- You may be able to claim an exemption for your collectible vehicle.
2. Get cost and testing information
Visit the Applus+ website to find out:
3. Find a test station
Find a test station (emissiontestwa.com). Some additional businesses are authorized to test your vehicle.
Fleets may be able to do their own emissions testing. Learn more about fleet emissions testing.
4. Get your emissions test
Visit the Applus+ website to get some answers about getting your emissions test.
5. Use your test results
- Renew your tabs:
- The testing station sends us your results electronically. In most cases, your record will show your test results within 2 hours. Please keep a copy of your test results in case they’re needed.
- If you renew online, you should be able to renew a few hours after the emission test. You don’t need to upload anything. The testing station enters your test results for you.
- If you renew at an office, your results should be there by the time you arrive. You should bring a copy of your test results in case you arrive before your results do.
- Register your vehicle or transfer the title:
- If you’re required to get an emissions test as part of registering your vehicle or transferring the title, submit your emissions testing report with the rest of your documentation. Please keep a copy of your test results for your records.
Questions? Need help?
Contact information (emissiontestwa.com)