Take a survey: Tell us how we're doing!

Disabled parking: Temporary

If you have a temporary condition that meets disabled parking requirements, you may ask to have disabled parking privileges for up to 6 months.

If you qualify, you’ll get 1 red placard, which hangs from the rearview mirror and can be used by any vehicle while it is providing transportation for you.

How to apply

  1. Complete and sign a Disabled Parking Application for Individuals. Your doctor, physician assistant, or licensed registered nurse practitioner must complete and sign the “Physician” section of the form before you can submit it.
  2. Submit the original, completed application form:
    • By mail to:
      Individuals with Disabilities
      Department of Licensing
      PO Box 9043
      Olympia WA 98507-9043
    • In person at any vehicle licensing office except Schmidt Insurance Service in Odessa.

Getting your placard

We’ll mail your receipt and disabled parking placard as soon as your application has been processed. You should receive your identification card in 2–3 weeks. Keep the identification card in your wallet or purse. You must provide it to law enforcement when requested.

When your placard expires

The placard is valid for 1–6 months from the date it was issued and isn’t renewable. If you need disabled parking for longer than 6 months, you must apply for a new temporary disabled parking placard.

When the placard has expired, you may return it to a vehicle licensing office for destruction or mail it to us at:

Individuals with Disabilities
Department of Licensing
PO Box 9043
Olympia WA 98507-9043

More information

If you have other questions, please contact customer service.

Washington Healthcare Finder
Access Washington