Trip permits

What is a trip permit?

They allow you to operate your unlicensed vehicles on public highways. A vehicle is considered unlicensed if:

  • The vehicle tabs are expired.
  • or
  • The current gross weight isn’t enough for the load being carried.

The cost is $30/per permit.

Vehicles that qualify

  • You can get a trip permit for:
    • Any 1 vehicle up to 3 times in any 30-day period.
    • Any 1 recreational vehicle (RV) up to 2 times in a 1-year period. Recreational vehicles include motor homes, travel trailers, camp trailers, and campers.
  • You can’t get a trip permit for non-highway and off-road vehicles, including snowmobiles and ORV use class vehicles. The permits are only for vehicles being used on public highways.

How to purchase a trip permit

Visit any vehicle licensing office:

  • Bring cash or check payable to Department of Licensing. Costs $30/per permit.
  • No exchanges, refunds, or credits are given once they’ve been purchased.

How to use a trip permit

Each trip permit is valid for 3 consecutive days, beginning with the first day of use.

  • You must complete, sign, and date the trip permit before you operate the vehicle.
  • Any correction or alteration of data on the permit invalidates it.

Related laws and rules

Questions? Need help?

Contact us or vehicle licensing office location.

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website