UPDATE

New state-wide mandate requires masks to visit our offices. Learn more.
Appointments are required for in-person services. Schedule yours now.
Get the latest COVID guidance for businesses.

If the information on this translated website is unclear, please contact us at 360.902.3900 for help in your language of choice.

Failure to appear in court or pay tickets (FTA)

Things to know

If you are reinstating a driver license suspended for failure to appear (FTA) for a Driving while License Suspended 3rd Degree (DWLS3) charge that was later reduced to a non-criminal traffic offense or dismissed, you may be eligible to have the standard $75 reissuance fee waived.

Reinstating drivers who received an FTA suspension for a DWLS3 charge that was reduced or dismissed should contact DOL via email at FTAquestions@dol.wa.gov for further information on fee waiver eligibility.

If a reinstating driver is eligible to have this fee removed, the email will direct them to online services to complete their transaction if a new license is needed or direct them to make an appointment if they wish to visit an office. If evidence that the DWLS3 charge was reduced or dismissed cannot be found by DOL staff or provided by the reinstating driver, the $75 fee cannot be waived.

Learn more about how a recent court ruling changes how we handle failure to appear (FTA) driver license suspensions.

Why was my license suspended or revoked?

Your license was suspended or revoked because you didn't pay a ticket or appear in court for criminal violation as required.

How long will my license be suspended or revoked?

Until you pay the fine or comply with the requirement to appear in court and we (DOL) have received notification from the court that the matter has been resolved.

Can I get a restricted license?

You may be eligible for an Occupational/Restricted License (ORL), if you've sent us proof of financial responsibility (usually an SR-22).

Can I contest or appeal the suspension?

You may request an administrative review within 15 days from the date on your suspension or revocation letter. The letter we sent to you includes a form to request an appeal.

How can I get my license back?

  1. Once your failure to appear has been cleared with the court, they'll issue a certificate of adjudication.
  2. After the court notifies us that your failure to appear has been cleared, we'll update your driving record to show your license isn't suspended or revoked any more for the failure to appear in court or pay tickets.
  3. If nothing else on your record prevents it, apply for a new license. You'll need to pay a:
    • $75 reissue fee plus your licensing fees if the original charge wasn't drug or alcohol related.
    • or
    • $150 reissue fee plus your licensing fees if the original charge was drug or alcohol related.

Get step-by-step instructions

You must have a License Express account for this step. Please log in or join to get a list of what you need to do to get your driving privileges back. While logged in, select the "View reinstatement requirements" link. This will open a customized list. Once you've resolved all items, you can take the next step to get your card. You can:.

If it has been more than 6 years since you had a valid license, follow the steps to getting your first license.

Related laws

Related information

Questions? Need help?

Call us: 360.902.3900 (TTY: Call 711)

Chatbot icon
Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website