
Cosmetology, Hair Design,
Barber, Manicurist, Esthetician,

or Master Esthetician
License, Renewal,
Reinstatement, or

Reciprocity Application
Apply renew, reinstate, or transfer your license.

Online: https://professions.dol.wa.gov

Or mail this completed application, any documents, and a check or money 
order payable to the Department of Licensing to:

Cosmetology Program
Department of Licensing
PO Box 3856
Seattle WA 98124-3856

For questions or language help call (360) 664-6626

Application for (check all that apply)
  Cosmetology    Hair Design    Barber    Manicurist    Esthetician    Master Esthetician

Application type and fees
	General application – $25 each: Must have completed all school or apprenticeship hours and both the written and the 
practical exams before your application can be processed.

	Renewal (Washington State only) – $55 each or $110 each if late.
	Reinstatement of a canceled license: If you haven’t renewed within 1 year of your expiration date, your license is 
in cancellation. Provide a copy of a previously held Washington State license or renewal notice. Washington requires 
a written and practical examination for licensure. You will be contacted with exam scheduling information. Third-party 
testing fees may apply.

	Out-of-jurisdiction – $50 per license: To get a license, submit a copy of a current and valid license and proof of 
exams. If you have not taken exams, Washington State requires written and practical exams before licensure. You 
will be contacted with exam scheduling information. Third-party testing fees may apply. Contact your licensing board, 
institution, or agency to request verification showing a license in good standing and proof of exams. You may provide 
other documentation if your jurisdiction cannot provide verification.

Licenses are available for self-printing with an online account.
If you want us to print and mail your license add a $5 print fee for each copy to your payment.

  $0 self-print license online.
  $5 each. DOL print and mail license.  Quantity   Total $ 

Applicant information
TYPE or PRINT Name as you would like it to appear on your license	 Date of birth

Full legal name (First, Middle, Last)

Mailing address

City	 State	 ZIP code

Current or previous Washington license number	 Out-of-jurisdiction license number	 Social Security number* (New/Reinstatement only)

Military? (check if applicable)

Current or former:   Military member   Military spouse or domestic partner
Email	 (Area code) Phone number

*You are not required to have a Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN or TIN) to apply for or be issued a 
license. If you do not have an SSN or ITIN, leave that section blank. If you do have a SSN, ITIN or TIN, you are required by federal and state law to 
provide it on the application (42 U.S.C. 666(a)(13) and RCW 74.20A.320).
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Legal background
Answer the following

Answer the questions below. If you answer “Yes,” attach a detailed explanation.

1.	 Within the last 5 years, in this state or any other jurisdiction, have you had any action  
(fine, suspension, revocation, censure, surrender, etc.) taken against any professional or  
occupational license, certification, or permit held by you? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     Yes    No

2.	 Within the last 5 years, in this state or any other jurisdiction, have you defaulted, or been  
convicted of, or entered a plea of no contest to a gross misdemeanor or felony crime?  
(Don’t include traffic convictions.) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        Yes    No

I declare under penalty of perjury under the law of Washington that the foregoing is true and correct.

	
	 TYPE or PRINT Name

	
Date and place	 Applicant signature

Providing false information in this application may be cause for denial, suspension, or revocation of your 
professional license in the State of Washington.

RCW 18.16, 18.235, 26.23.150
BC-638-040 (R/6/20)VWA Page 2 of 2

X


	Cosmetology: Off
	Hair Design: Off
	Barber: Off
	Manicurist: Off
	Esthetician: Off
	Master Esthetician: Off
	type and fees: Off
	type and fees 7: Off
	type and fees 8: Off
	printLicense: Off
	printQuantity: 
	printCost: 
	licenseName: 
	dob: 
	legalName: 
	address: 
	city: 
	state: 
	zip: 
	license number: 
	oos license number: 
	ssn: 
	military: Off
	email: 
	phone: 
	legal 1: Off
	legal 2: Off
	typeOrPrint: 
	datePlace: 
	Click here: 
	signature: 


