

## STATE OF WASHINGTON DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING

PO Box 9020, Olympia, Washington 9850-9020

## Washington Administrative Code Notice of Permanent Rules for Driver and Vehicle Investigations – Fraud Suspension Rules

**Adoption of:** Amended: WAC 308-104-075 Driver's licenses – Prohibited practices – Suspension,

cancellation, or denial period.

**Effective date:** These rule changes will become effective 31 days after filing or on

January 28, 2021.

## What are the agency's reasons for adopting this rule?

The amendment will update the Department's policy on suspension periods related to fraud. The amendment will allow for discretion as it relates to suspension periods, from a zero day suspension to 364 days, depending on the type of identity fraud, type of credential involved, driver status of the individual committing fraud, etc. This change will support an internal process already being used by Driver and Vehicle Investigators.

Summary of all public comments received on this rule proposal and the agency's response to those comments:

The agency did not receive any written or oral comments from the public on these rule changes.

Changes made to the proposed WAC as a result of public comment: N/A

The Administrative Procedure Act (RCW 34.05.325(6)) requires agencies to complete a concise explanatory statement before filing adopted rules with the Office of the Code Reviser. This statement must be provided to anyone who gave comment about the proposed rulemaking.

The Department of Licensing appreciates your involvement in this rulemaking process. If you have any questions, please contact Damon Monroe, Agency Rules Coordinator, at (360) 902-3843 or email dmonroe@dol.wa.gov.