UPDATE

New state-wide mandate requires masks to visit our offices. Learn more.
Appointments are required for in-person services. Schedule yours now.
Get the latest COVID guidance for businesses.

If the information on this translated website is unclear, please contact us at 360.902.3900 for help in your language of choice.

January 2015 – Vehicle and plate fees changed

As of January 1, 2015, all vehicle owners will pay the same amount in service fees regardless of where their transaction is processed.

This new law (E2SHB 1129) requires the following offices to start collecting service fees:

  • County Auditor or County vehicle licensing offices, and
  • Department of Licensing Co 40 (This office only processes mail-in and online transactions)

Service fees

  • For vehicle registration and tab renewals: $5 – for vehicles that expire on or after January 1, 2015.
  • For vehicle title transfers: $12

The $5 service fee includes registrations and temporary off-road vehicle permits, trip permits, snowmobile registrations, and some other transactions.

The $12 service fee includes, but is not limited to, vehicle electronic title fees, lien-holder changes with a transfer in ownership, title transfer, and name change.

These new fees will fund the construction of new ferries to replace the current out-dated ones.

Chatbot icon
Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website