New law raises plate fees starting July 1, 2022

If the information on this translated website is unclear, please contact us at 360.902.3900 for help in your language of choice.
Military Affiliate Radio System plate

Military Affiliate Radio System (MARS) plates

COVID-19 closures are affecting the production of our license plates, tabs, and decals. This is causing significant delays in our ability to issue them to you.

You may want to consider waiting to apply for a personalized or specialty plate.

If you have a temporary permit expiring soon, you can visit a vehicle licensing office to get a new one.

We don't have a timeline for when production delays will return to normal. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this causes.


  1. What you need to do to qualify.
  2. Find out the cost for plates.
  3. Submit your documentation, application and payment.
  4. Update your Good-to-Go! account, if needed.
  5. Renewing your plates

1. What you need to do to qualify

This plate is available to you if you're a WA state vehicle owner and have an Affiliate Radio License authorized by Department of Defense.

2. Find out the cost for plates

Fee by vehicle type
Vehicle type Fee
Passenger $42.25
Truck $41.50

Save money. If your tabs expire in 6 months or less, save money by getting your new plates and tabs at the same time.

3. Submit your documentation, application and payment

Contact a vehicle licensing office to find out the total cost of your plates.

Mail a copy of your Affiliate Radio License, Military License Plate Application and payment.

4. Update your Good To Go! account, if needed

If you have a Good To Go! electronic tolling pass, be sure to update the contact information on your account with the Department of Transportation:

5. Renewing your plates

There's no yearly plate fee for MARS plates, but you'll need to renew the vehicle registration and tabs every year.


Contact us

Chatbot icon
Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website