Moving? Get WA license
By law, you have 30 days to get your Washington driver license once you establish residency in Washington State.
How to establish residency in Washington
You’re considered a Washington resident when you do any of the following:
- Arrive and begin establishing a home in Washington.
- Register to vote.
- Receive state benefits.
- Get any Washington State license at resident rates.
- Receive in-state tuition fees.
How to get a Washington State driver license
- Find out if you can pre-apply online.
- If you’re a Washington resident, 18 or older, have never had a Washington driver license, instruction permit, or ID card, and have a Washington residence street address, Pre-apply online and save time in the office. You’ll finish your application at a driver licensing office.
- If you,
- Don’t have a Washington residence street address, have other special address issues, or currently have or in the past you’ve had a Washington driver license, instruction permit, or ID card. Apply at a driver licensing office.
- Are upgrading your license or ID card to an EDL or EID. Apply at a EDL/EID office.
- Visit a driver licensing office to start your application or to finish an application you started online. Bring the following with you:
- Proof of identity, including your out-of-state license.
- Payment for the fees.
- Your Social Security number (mandatory to help enforce child support laws).
- You don’t need to show us your card, we’ll still be able to verify it.
- If you don’t have a Social Security number, you must verify your Washington residence address before you can proceed.
- Pass a vision screening.
- Pass any required tests:
|If you have…
||Pass these tests…
|A valid license from:
- Another U.S. state
- District of Columbia
- U.S. Territory or possession
- U.S. Department of State
- British Columbia
- South Korea
- Taiwan (Taiwan Driver’s License holders wanting to obtain a Washington State Driver’s License, please contact the Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Seattle (TECO) at 206.441.4586 ext. 311 or by e-mail at email@example.com)
|No tests required.
|A valid license, but have a medical or physical condition that shows testing is required
||Knowledge and drive test
|An expired license from another state
||Knowledge and drive test
- Turn in your out-of-state driver license/ID card.
If you’re a teen driver under the age of 18
See Teens to learn about additional requirements for getting a Washington driver license.
If you’re from another country
- If you’ve moved to Washington from a country or Canadian province not mentioned in the steps above, you must complete all the steps to getting your first license.
- If you’re visiting Washington State, you may use your out-of-country driver license for up to 1 year.
When will I get my license?
Before you leave the licensing office, you’ll get a temporary license that allows you to drive for 45 days. Your permanent license will be mailed within 7–10 days. If you don’t receive it within 30 days, please go to a driver licensing office.
How to get an enhanced driver license (EDL)
See Steps to getting your EDL/EID. EDL/EID is an acceptable alternative to a passport for re-entry into the U.S. at land and sea border crossings.
RCW 46.20.021: New residents