Update

New law raises plate fees starting July 1, 2022

If the information on this translated website is unclear, please contact us at 360.902.3900 for help in your language of choice.

How to get your license: Cosmetology instructor

Licensing requirements

School graduates

You must:

  • Have a current Washington cosmetology, barber, manicurist, esthetician, hair design, or master esthetician license before enrolling in an instructor program.
  • Graduate from a school we license with the 500 minimum required hours.
  • Pass the state-approved practical and written examinations administered by D.L. Roope. For more details about the exams, visit dlroope.com

Reciprocity applicants

You must:

  • Have a current Washington cosmetology, barber, manicurist, esthetician, hair design, or master esthetician license before applying for an instructor license.
  • Have an active instructor license in good standing in another jurisdiction .

How to apply

Online

You'll need a SecureAccess Washington (SAW) account to apply online.

Apply online

By mail

School graduates

  1. After you pass the exams, complete an Instructor of Cosmetology, Hair Design, Barber, Manicurist, Esthetician, or Master Esthetician License, Renewal, or Reciprocity Application
  2. Mail your completed application, supporting documents and a check or money order (payable to Department of Licensing) for the fee to the address below.

Reciprocity applicants

  1. Complete an Instructor of Cosmetology, Hair Design, Barber, Manicurist, Esthetician, or Master Esthetician License, Renewal, or Reciprocity Application
  2. Provide proof you've passed the approved exam(s).
  3. Provide proof you have an active license in good standing in another jurisdiction
  4. Mail your completed application, any supporting documents, and a check or money order (payable to Department of Licensing) for the fee to:
Cosmetology Program
Department of Licensing
PO Box 3856
Seattle, WA 98124-3856

If you apply for a WA license, it won’t affect your license in another state.

When will I get my license?

We won't mail your license unless you request a printed copy. Your license is available to print online.

If you applied online

  • We'll process your request within 14 business days. It will be available to print online at any time.
  • Check your email for notifications about your license.
  • See how to self-print your license.

If you applied by mail

  • We'll process your request within 45 business days and send a copy of your license to the email address listed on the application.
  • You can print your license online at any time. See how to self-print your license

Get a printed license by mail

  • To get a printed license when applying by mail, you must send the license print fee with your application.
  • To request a printed copy of your license, send us the following information:
    • Name
    • Mailing address
    • Email address
    • Phone number
    • License type
    • License number
    • Check or money order for the license print fee, payable to Department of Licensing
    • Mail to:

      Cosmetology Program
      Department of Licensing
      PO Box 3856
      Seattle, WA 98124-3856

For veterans, military personnel, and partners

Your military experience or training might help you meet licensing requirements. You may also be able to get a temporary license if you're moving here with a current license from another state. For more information visit military assistance.

If you're a U.S. veteran, you may be eligible for partial reimbursement of your fees. For more information, visit Get paid back for test fees.

Email updates

Subscribe to email updates to get the latest rule changes, licensing updates, and board notices by email.

Questions? Need help?

Chatbot icon
Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website